Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
March 28, 2024, 09:50:43 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Recent

Author Topic: A Proper Introduction  (Read 2347 times)

Offline tikitang

• Mad Scientist
  • A shadow out of time...
A Proper Introduction
« on: August 11, 2022, 03:11:05 PM »
Greetings,

This is slightly awkward as I've been posting here for several years now, without having properly introduced myself.

I'm from Edinburgh, Scotland, married and a father of four. I'm about to enter my 40s, and have been experimenting with skirmish gaming for about a decade, with very little to show for it, though I've learned a lot and I'm hoping to turn things around in the years to come. I'm rather an introverted fellow, so prefer to game alone or with family or close friends. I'm not generally comfortable with groups, so tend to avoid clubs.

My hobbies are:

- Reading
- Board Games
- Cycling
- Wargaming (theoretically, so far)

These are my general interests:

- Arthurian Myth and Legend
- Dark Ages
- Gothic Horror
- English Civil War / Wars of the Three Kingdoms
- Biblical History

I'm a fan of the fictional work of the following authors:

- J.R.R. Tolkien
- Robert E. Howard
- H.P. Lovecraft
- C.S. Lewis
- Arthur Machen
- Bram Stoker

As far as wargaming is concerned I first came across it at highschool through a combination of:

(a) skimming through copies of White Dwarf in the school library

(b) a friend in my class who was massively into it all

(c) strolling past [and many times stopping at] Games Workshop on my daily walk home.

I was particularly interested in the artwork and the lore (mostly the artwork), but never really played any games or painted anything. In fact, I was always rather averse to that side of things until much more recently.