Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 19, 2024, 03:54:07 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Recent

Author Topic: David Manley ACW naval STLs  (Read 633 times)

Offline eptingmike

• Bookworm
David Manley ACW naval STLs
« on: December 28, 2023, 02:57:04 AM »
Good evening all,
I recently picked up a few of David Manley's ACW naval STLs from Wargames Vault.  I have been working with a small resin printer for about 6-7 months but it has generally been pre-supported files.  Any of you folks have thoughts about or experience with printing these or similar files?  Print straight on the bed?  Lift and angle like I have seen other types of files set up?
Interested to see what you folks think!
All the best
Mike

Offline Kelly_

• Bookworm
  • ...the underscore is silent
Re: David Manley ACW naval STLs
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2023, 11:56:49 PM »
Full disclaimer: I have not yet picked up any of his stls, since I am still several projects behind, but I have been looking through the range after hearing his interview on Yarkshire Gamer.  With the majority of his designs being flat waterline models I would definitely angle them to at least 30 degrees and add supports.

Supports will add a lot of time to the print jobs, but I would be very concerned about damage to the miniatures when trying to remove them from the build plate otherwise, and I hardly ever print models flat unless it is by specific request.

Hope they turn out well, and I look forward to seeing your results!
If my wife asks, I only spent half as much as I wanted to...

Offline eptingmike

• Bookworm
« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2023, 12:58:11 AM »
Thank you for the reply as well as advice!
I think the ships look pretty great so want to get them to print their best :)

Offline eptingmike

• Bookworm
« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2024, 10:10:56 PM »
Quick update: