Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 29, 2024, 05:29:40 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Recent

Author Topic: New to historical gaming - interested in getting started with ACW  (Read 1901 times)

Offline Wayniac

• Lurker
Hello all, like the title says I'm new to historical gaming (my area here in Florida is pretty much entirely Warhammer, and I haven't found any local wargame clubs that I can reach out to that do things like historical gaming).  I'm interested in the Civil War (US version) and have purchased some history books to start broadening my depth of the period.  I may have a friend who is also into history joining me at some point, but for a while, I think I have to go it solo.

I'm looking at 6mm or 10mm figures as my table space would be limited to at most 5x3 and more likely 48x30 or thereabouts, as I don't have a lot of space.  6mm seems like it would work better for this, as it would give me more space, but I'm not entirely certain yet and I'm looking at figure ranges (Baccus is currently looking really solid, minus the inevitable high shipping cost to the US) to get a better idea of cost.

As you may have guessed, I am a bit overwhelmed with the myriad of rules, figures, and basically everything as my only experience has been with Warhammer where everything is provided by one company.  I'm currently looking through some interesting campaigns to find something that might be good to get started.  Right now, from some reading about wargaming ACW, it seems like the Jackson's Shenandoah Valley campaign and the Peninsula Campaign of 1862 are good periods, especially with the former being what looks to be smaller actions (doesn't look like it's more than a couple of brigades at most a side?), and then it could lead into the latter anyway when Jackson's forces arrive for the Seven Days.  Which, if I am not mistaken, would give me the opportunity to start small and then expand?