Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 29, 2024, 03:34:56 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Recent

Author Topic: Static grass erection making thingie  (Read 1059 times)

Offline Freddy

• Mastermind
    • My blog
Static grass erection making thingie
« on: January 01, 2024, 10:17:42 AM »
Happy new year for everyone!

I always had a problem with static grass, especially with the longer type. The grass patches made with it look like someone stomped on them, a very few pieces of grass actually point towards the sky. Applying static electricity is supposed to solve this problem (this is why it is called static grass after all), but how to apply that? The school experiment with a plastic ruler does not really work, I heard that there are applicator devices, but the one I found is a bit too expensive unless I am a professional modeler.

So, what solutions do you use? Anything to recommend?
Thanks for the help in advance!

Online OSHIROmodels

• Supporting Adventurer
  • Elder God
  • Custom terrain a speciality.
    • Oshiro modelterrain
Re: Static grass erection making thingie
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2024, 10:24:15 AM »
You can get reasonable applicators for around £20.
cheers

James

https://www.oshiromodels.co.uk/

Twitter account -     @OSHIROmodels
Instagram account - oshiromodels

http://redplanetminiatures.blogspot.co.uk/
http://jimbibblyblog.blogspot.com/

Offline Freddy

• Mastermind
    • My blog
« Reply #2 on: January 01, 2024, 10:25:53 AM »
You can get reasonable applicators for around £20.

Cool, thanks, where?

Offline infelix

• Mad Scientist
« Reply #3 on: January 01, 2024, 10:28:10 AM »
The easiest way is to use an applicator but as you mentioned, they are quite expensive. If you're good with electronics, there are guides out there how to build one. I tried that, but I don't know enough about electronics and failed miserably.