*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
May 22, 2024, 12:05:23 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Members
  • Total Members: 10482
  • Latest: Veroo
Stats
  • Total Posts: 1694367
  • Total Topics: 118601
  • Online Today: 567
  • Online Ever: 2235
  • (October 29, 2023, 01:32:45 AM)
Users Online

Recent

Author Topic: Pulp Alley rules question.  (Read 1538 times)

Offline Shuby

  • Bookworm
  • Posts: 79
    • 28mm from hell
Pulp Alley rules question.
« on: April 18, 2024, 09:01:11 AM »
Hello,
I'm discovering Pulp Alley and essentially use it to play solo and co op. I'm very happy with the rule system.
I'have a question about some of the rules:

A lot of rules tell me to draw a fortune card as a reward or to use one of mine to cancel an effect or to use a special ability. But in solo mode and with the solo deck you don't have cards in your hand as much as using the normal fortune cards deck, and a lots of them are negatives effects for you so that don't sound as a reward...
Is there an other way to play this effects in solo?

I 'm in France and would like to know if there is a way to get all the gadget, gears, contact, cult... cards even in pdf ? They are out of stock on Sally 4th and i don't find a pdf version.

Thanks a lot

Alexis

Offline LeadLust

  • Assistant
  • Posts: 21
Re: Pulp Alley rules question.
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2024, 09:56:23 PM »
Available as PDFs direct from Pulp Alley postage free!

Offline Shuby

  • Bookworm
  • Posts: 79
    • 28mm from hell
Re: Pulp Alley rules question.
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2024, 08:50:38 AM »
Thanks. But i 'm talking about the Backup, contact, cult, minion, gear, gadget... cards... They are not on the Pulp Alley store neither in physical neither in pdf...

Offline NickNascati

  • Scatterbrained Genius
  • Posts: 2200
Re: Pulp Alley rules question.
« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2024, 04:18:57 PM »
I have a three decks.  Iím in the US, Iíll check the cost of shipping a small box to you if you are interested.

Offline Shuby

  • Bookworm
  • Posts: 79
    • 28mm from hell
Re: Pulp Alley rules question.
« Reply #4 on: April 21, 2024, 05:43:36 PM »
Thanks. Why not,  tell me about about the price and shipping.

Offline Andy in Germany

  • Scientist
  • Posts: 422
Re: Pulp Alley rules question.
« Reply #5 on: April 21, 2024, 05:51:57 PM »
I 'm in France

Just thought; you aren't in Alsace by any chance? I'm just over the border in the Breisgau.

Offline Shuby

  • Bookworm
  • Posts: 79
    • 28mm from hell
Re: Pulp Alley rules question.
« Reply #6 on: April 22, 2024, 07:30:24 AM »
Hi. No sorry. I'm in the south west near Toulouse...

Offline Andy in Germany

  • Scientist
  • Posts: 422
Re: Pulp Alley rules question.
« Reply #7 on: April 22, 2024, 07:38:12 PM »
Hi. No sorry. I'm in the south west near Toulouse...

It was worth a try...

Offline NickNascati

  • Scatterbrained Genius
  • Posts: 2200
Re: Pulp Alley rules question.
« Reply #8 on: April 23, 2024, 03:58:05 PM »
Shuby,
           I sent you a PM, did you receive it?

Offline Shuby

  • Bookworm
  • Posts: 79
    • 28mm from hell
Re: Pulp Alley rules question.
« Reply #9 on: April 24, 2024, 02:29:58 PM »
Yes.Thanks. i've done a reply by MP.

Offline Shuby

  • Bookworm
  • Posts: 79
    • 28mm from hell
Re: Pulp Alley rules question.
« Reply #10 on: April 24, 2024, 02:31:54 PM »
If someone have an answer to my rules's question it would be very nice. I 'm very stuck in the game with that point of the rules... ???

Offline Dangerboy

  • Bookworm
  • Posts: 59
Re: Pulp Alley rules question.
« Reply #11 on: April 25, 2024, 12:38:26 AM »
A lot of rules tell me to draw a fortune card as a reward or to use one of mine to cancel an effect or to use a special ability. But in solo mode and with the solo deck you don't have cards in your hand as much as using the normal fortune cards deck, and a lots of them are negatives effects for you so that don't sound as a reward...
Is there an other way to play this effects in solo?


Some scenarios may have special rules, but you normally draw a Reward card (Blue) when you complete a plot point, not a Fortune card (Red). The same is true for solo games; you should draw a Reward card (Blue), not a Solo card (Black). The rules for plot points and Reward cards are on the bottom half of page 52 as well as page 55, if you need more clarification.

Abilities don't typically (that I can think of) have you draw a Fortune card to trigger using them (though some use the "X" value on the bottom corner to resolve them). You usually discard a card from your hand. If you are playing solo, you use the rule at the bottom of page 89 for discarding, since you won't have any Fortune cards. Generally, it's more difficult to use those abilities in solo games, but part of that is a balancing factor, since any enemies won't have Fortune cards to play against you.


I 'm in France and would like to know if there is a way to get all the gadget, gears, contact, cult... cards even in pdf ? They are out of stock on Sally 4th and i don't find a pdf version.


Unfortunately, I believe those cards were discontinued, with the plan being for Dave to update them at some point in the future.
« Last Edit: April 25, 2024, 12:40:04 AM by Dangerboy »

Offline Shuby

  • Bookworm
  • Posts: 79
    • 28mm from hell
Re: Pulp Alley rules question.
« Reply #12 on: April 25, 2024, 09:38:47 AM »
Thanks for the clarification.


You usually discard a card from your hand. If you are playing solo, you use the rule at the bottom of page 89 for discarding, since you won't have any Fortune cards.


I play with the french rule, wich i think , is coming from the first edition, so i don't have this rule on page 89... Is it possible to tell me what that rulesay?

Offline Dangerboy

  • Bookworm
  • Posts: 59
Re: Pulp Alley rules question.
« Reply #13 on: April 25, 2024, 09:53:40 AM »
My apologies. If you have the first edition rules, then the rules for drawing a Reward card when you complete a plot point are on page 26, under Plot Point Control.

For solo games, you can use the rule from second edition:

Discarding: If an ability or some other effect requires you to discard, you may remove any Solo card attached to one of your characters.

Keep in mind that this only applies for solo games. Hope that clarifies things.


Offline Shuby

  • Bookworm
  • Posts: 79
    • 28mm from hell
Re: Pulp Alley rules question.
« Reply #14 on: April 25, 2024, 04:50:24 PM »
Ok. That's cool. Thanks

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
28 Replies
3855 Views
Last post June 03, 2014, 09:02:51 PM
by gary42
1 Replies
1167 Views
Last post February 23, 2015, 07:40:36 PM
by Wolf Girl
14 Replies
6598 Views
Last post October 10, 2021, 03:50:22 AM
by salcor
2 Replies
1332 Views
Last post July 19, 2016, 02:56:07 AM
by d phipps
6 Replies
1456 Views
Last post November 04, 2020, 03:35:22 PM
by NickNascati