Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 27, 2024, 06:23:54 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 1690833
  • Total Topics: 118354
  • Online Today: 861
  • Online Ever: 2235
  • (October 29, 2023, 01:32:45 AM)
Users Online

Recent

Author Topic: first 54mm Toy Soldier  (Read 3325 times)

Offline black hat miniatures

• Mad Scientist
    • http://www.blackhat.co.uk/
first 54mm Toy Soldier
« on: February 05, 2010, 12:52:16 PM »
Hi

My very first wargaming when I was 12 was with Little Wars and Airfix 54mm plastics and I have decided that this year I want to put together forces matching those in the original Little Wars of a Blue and Red Army.

I am quite taken with the Funny Little Wars rules and have bought 10 Cannon off ebay in preparation, I just need the troops now.

To this end, as I am a toy soldier manufacturer, I have started to work on a small range of suitable 54mm figures to be cast in metal.

This is the first figure, which has separate arms and heads – currently a Home Service Head for normal troops and a bearskin head for guard troops.

They are sized to match Tradition in scale.

The next step will be an officer based on the same master body, followed by a standard bearer and then some cavalry.

After that I hope to do some artillery crew for the Britain's cannons.

This is Army Red sorted – I'm still looking for ideas for Army Blue, of whether to use French or German troops types – any suggestions welcomed.

I have no idea how much these will cost to produce, so have no real idea until I cast them of what the end price will be if I decided to make them generally available

let me know what you think…

Many thanks

Mike
Mike Lewis

Black Hat Miniatures
www.blackhat.co.uk

Offline Orctrader

• Supporting Adventurer
  • Scatterbrained Genius
    • Orctrader's Painted Figures
Re: first 54mm Toy Soldier
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2010, 01:01:28 PM »