Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 20, 2024, 06:12:39 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 1689767
  • Total Topics: 118294
  • Online Today: 796
  • Online Ever: 2235
  • (October 29, 2023, 01:32:45 AM)
Users Online

Recent

Author Topic: Bits and bobs  (Read 1981 times)

Offline oldskoolrebel

• Supporting Adventurer
  • Mastermind
    • My Campaigns
Bits and bobs
« on: June 22, 2010, 05:53:08 PM »
I'd like to apologise for the stupid questions that I'm about to ask.

My very talented friends have been working on a Zeppelin; I've volunteered not to ruin it work on it. I decided to take some inspiration from their valiant efforts and fleck my own (pathetically weedy) terrain making muscles. Please note that this has nothing to do with the Zeppelin!  lol

Please bare in mind that I'm still very new to all of this!

This is the first adobe I've even constructed (Still very much unfinished!). Made from cork tiles and filler. The construction was OK, the application of the filler was awful. I didn't dilute the filler and I think you can tell- even after sanding it still looks terrible. The roof lead me to decided that cork is terrible for using as a roof. Also I am really not feeling the paint scheme. I'm strongly considering writing this off as a test piece and trying again.

Could someone please recommend an absolute fool proof painting scheme/technique?

This standing stone is the first thing I've successfully carved from foam... I'm quite happy with the shape. obviously it is still unfinished so I've got plenty of time to ruin it!

I've also to paint a 3' by 2' desert board; I've started by undercoating it burnt umber (very close to scorched brown). Could someone give me an idea of what other colours to paint? Cheers

A final question to people who use wall paints for terrain; do you generally water the paint down or use straight out of the pot?

Cheers
Andy