Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 29, 2024, 03:25:59 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 1691142
  • Total Topics: 118376
  • Online Today: 905
  • Online Ever: 2235
  • (October 29, 2023, 01:32:45 AM)
Users Online

Recent

Author Topic: Newbie starting a table. Need suggestions!  (Read 8301 times)

Offline Faber

• Mastermind
  • onnivorous painter
    • Faber Ambitious Mordheim Project
Newbie starting a table. Need suggestions!
« on: November 10, 2010, 07:12:00 PM »
Hi everybody!
I'm thinkin to start a new table but I've never done it before, so need suggestions!
I'have a 150X75 cm table. I'd like to play, of course, on a bigger surface: 160X120 for example. I've thought the better solution for me is the modular squares (40X40?).I'd like to create something useful for different WWII games (not choosen the rules at the moment). Time and place: late war, german (or french?) town destroyed by allied (or axis?) bombardment. I want to create an urban table with city style buildings but destroyed by bombs and artillery.
ANY SUGGESTION IS REALLY WELCOME!
thanks in advance guys!
Faber

Offline SBMiniaturesGuy

• Mad Scientist
    • SBMiniguys Blog for all things OstFront
Re: Newbie starting a table. Need suggestions!
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2010, 07:33:47 PM »
Welcome to the war!! What kind of table you do is, in my opinion, a function of your storage space. I game in 28mm and while I love the look of custom-crafted terrain tiles, I don't have the storage space. Instead I use  gaming mats with an urban pattern -- cement-grays, brick and such. On one mat I have stenciled a cobblestone stone streets using a stencil pattern from Litko Aero: http://www.litkoaero.com/

The other is just "plain". The mats were from Terrain Mat: http://terrainmat.com/