Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
May 01, 2024, 06:10:36 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Recent

Author Topic: Back of Beyond: a brief explanation please?  (Read 2697 times)

Offline benglish

• Bookworm
Back of Beyond: a brief explanation please?
« on: September 02, 2011, 04:36:18 AM »
Hey guys.

I'm new to the hobby and I've been checking out some of the amazing games and figures on this forum. 

Back of Beyond looks really cool ... I just have one question: what it is, exactly.  I get the central Asia in the 20s and 30s part.  It seems like it's a more historically based pulp adventure sort of set-up.  But what throws me is all the Russian Civil War stuff -- how's that come into it?  That just seems not to match with everything else.

I've also seen people discussing which rules set to use with Back of Beyond -- it it just a sourcebook and army list? 

Sorry for such a noob question.  Just looking for some guidance.

thanks

Offline Hammers

• Amateur papiermachiéer
  • Supporting Adventurer
  • Elder God
  • Workbench and Pulp Moderator
Re: Back of Beyond: a brief explanation please?
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2011, 06:46:11 AM »
Its because the RCW was one of the major reasons for the unrest in the back of beyond, which in this context means Central Asia. The Warlord wars of China is another such conflict which is, especially here on LAF, taking shelter under the BoB umbrella.

You should know that "back of beyond" has historically mostly been used about the Australian outback but is really a generic term for  a terms coined by Sir Walter Scott
You... whirled them to the back of beyont to look at the auld Roman camp.

So, the general application of BoB here on LAF,  and perhaps among most wargamers, is for any untidy war going on in the early 20th century in, to a Westerner, more or less remote corner of the world.