Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 28, 2024, 03:55:15 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 1690988
  • Total Topics: 118362
  • Online Today: 742
  • Online Ever: 2235
  • (October 29, 2023, 01:32:45 AM)
Users Online

Recent

Author Topic: I am no expert but...  (Read 2314 times)

Offline Conquistador

• Galactic Brain
  • There are hostile eye watching us from the arroyos
I am no expert but...
« on: April 19, 2012, 02:36:54 AM »
I look at page 69 of FoF and I see a picture labeled "Paratrooper, Soviet VDV, Afghanistan, 1980s" then I se a picture on page 71 "Soviet Naval Infantryman 1975" and they look like they might be reversed.  Para as a  "Sailor" looking hat and striped shirt under camo that looks more "navy" to me...

Gracias,

Glenn

Hell they all look like small slow agile targets to a advocate of Billy Mitchell like myself...
Viva Alta California!  Las guerras de España,  Las guerras de las Américas,  Las guerras para la Libertad!

Offline The Travelling Man

• Librarian
Re: I am no expert but...
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2012, 03:30:03 AM »
Haven't my copy with me but think the captions are correct.  VDV did indeed wear a striped tee shirt under their BDU blouse- it's pretty much a trademark of Soviet airborne forces. 

Offline Conquistador

• Galactic Brain
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2012, 03:37:26 AM »
Okay.

Like I said, no expert...

Gracias,

Glenn

Offline Arlequín

• Galactic Brain
  • Culpame de la Bossa Nova...
« Reply #3 on: April 19, 2012, 09:42:43 AM »
Yes the Soviet Airborne do seem to have taken their inspiration from a Gaultier advert and do wear a sky blue beret with a striped 'sailor' style shirt. Naval infantry wear a black (or is it a dark navy blue?) one and the stripes on their shirt are a darker blue. The camouflage is beyond me though... not something I know anything about at all.