Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 28, 2024, 10:52:21 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Recent

Author Topic: Advice on Strange Aeons for a total newbie  (Read 2956 times)

Offline gmanrocks

• Mad Scientist
Advice on Strange Aeons for a total newbie
« on: June 25, 2012, 11:17:52 AM »
Hi everyone

I've been looking at Strange Aeons as a new hobby, but after checking out the demo kit and reading blog reviews, i'm kind of on the fence about it, mostly because it's an expensive game to invest in (including postage and expansions).

I'd kind of like to know peoples personal experiences with it, and how much fun they're having with it, from all aspects of the hobby, whether they like the rules, the modelling and scenery potentials, the games support or even just the looks of the books.

I'm kind of asking to be sold on the game, without saying "Sell me it" :P

One question on the game itself though, in a campaign, can you play a cultist group? I know a few of my friends who always like the baddies, so having a group they can progress would help me snag a few players

Thanks

Offline Cherno

• Scatterbrained Genius
Re: Advice on Strange Aeons for a total newbie
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2012, 11:23:22 AM »
The only thing I can give advise is the entry price. Try finding a local retailer or at least one in a country near you that carries the books and shipping will obviously be much cheaper, no taxes etc.

Also, from what I understand the first two expansions that are now out of print are available as PDFs on Uncle Mike's website for little money.

Offline styx

• Scatterbrained Genius
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2012, 01:01:26 PM »
Well, Strange Aeons allows for a player to play the good guys and the bad guys in alternate games. So, if you have a friend that plays with you, one of you can be the bad guys and the other player takes up the Threshold team.