*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
October 05, 2022, 01:01:22 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Recent

Author Topic: 2nd Question of the Day  (Read 1170 times)

Offline DoctorDuckButter

  • Bookworm
  • Posts: 66
2nd Question of the Day
« on: October 19, 2012, 05:36:44 PM »
I have read different responses on different posts....so here it goes....

Can a person with Lightning Reflexes use a Rifle on Alert? This is a very good combo, that I would love to use.

Offline superflytnt

  • Mad Scientist
  • Posts: 558
  • Cthulhu. Cthulhu never changes.
    • Superfly Circus - Board Games And Social Commentary
Re: 2nd Question of the Day
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2012, 06:02:58 PM »
Nope. The FAQ clearly illustrates.

Q. Can I use a weapon with ready if my model is Alert and has the Lightning Fast skill.
A. No, although the model may ignore the Ready special ability on weapons because of Lightning Fast, an Alert model may still never use Dynamite and Bolt Action Rifles.

Sorry, he's quick, but not that bloody quick!

www.superflycircus.blogspot.com
Board Game Reviews And Social Commentary At Its Finest

Offline styx

  • Scatterbrained Genius
  • Posts: 2972
Re: 2nd Question of the Day
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2012, 06:06:03 PM »
So, could someone explain the sniper's perk Ever Watchful?

When Alert the Sniper can shoot 20" instead of the normal 10". *glances at the book* has a bowie knife and bolt action rifle...

If you can't do the above, what the use is this then?
Check out my blogs!

Warhammer 40k, Fantasy and more!: http://armyoftheweek.blogspot.com

Warhammer Historicals: Legends of the High Seas and Old West, Gladiator: http://diceoflegends.blogspot.com/

Strange Aeons: http://strangeraeonsadventures.blogspot.com

Offline DoctorDuckButter

  • Bookworm
  • Posts: 66
Re: 2nd Question of the Day
« Reply #3 on: October 19, 2012, 06:37:24 PM »
^
 l
 l
 l
Exactly!!!!

Offline mdomino

  • Librarian
  • Posts: 160
Re: 2nd Question of the Day
« Reply #4 on: October 19, 2012, 06:48:53 PM »
Yeah, that question has been answered before by Uncle Mike. I believe the answer was the sniper is just a mistake. You can't use ready weapons on alert. They might want to rework the sniper in future- give him some other perk.
Mike D

Offline styx

  • Scatterbrained Genius
  • Posts: 2972
Re: 2nd Question of the Day
« Reply #5 on: October 19, 2012, 07:12:13 PM »
Yeah, that question has been answered before by Uncle Mike. I believe the answer was the sniper is just a mistake. You can't use ready weapons on alert. They might want to rework the sniper in future- give him some other perk.
Mike D

Well, that really throws the value of the sniper under the bus to be honest.

Offline LidlessEye

  • Mad Scientist
  • Posts: 707
  • Recovering Cultist
Re: 2nd Question of the Day
« Reply #6 on: October 19, 2012, 07:13:45 PM »
Actually, the Sniper is the only model in the game (so far) that can use a Ready weapon when Alert, which we really do need to specify more clearly in the wording of Ever Watchful.  That one slipped through when we did the 3rd printing revision, unfortunately.  Previously discussed here: http://leadadventureforum.com/index.php?topic=36074

It's possible this sort of skill will become available to Threshold in 2nd Edition, where we're likely to substantially expand the skill selection.  We've only just started looking at skills from a branching tree perspective (a side effect of me spending too much time playing MMOs), which should eventually lead to a broader set of options, though getting the really powerful skills will require focusing on a specific branch almost exclusively (ie. top level skills may have 4 prerequisites).  The expanded skills presented in Fhtagn! #1 are the first stage of the development process.

Offline superflytnt

  • Mad Scientist
  • Posts: 558
  • Cthulhu. Cthulhu never changes.
    • Superfly Circus - Board Games And Social Commentary
Re: 2nd Question of the Day
« Reply #7 on: October 19, 2012, 07:22:54 PM »
In an "exception-based" game, having a model's power that breaks the normal rules is quite normal.


Offline styx

  • Scatterbrained Genius
  • Posts: 2972
Re: 2nd Question of the Day
« Reply #8 on: October 19, 2012, 07:25:45 PM »
Damm Fhtagn and your secrets! Eventually I will be able to join the cult...just keeps being set backs on my spending to join up.

Well, that sheds some light on the sniper and makes him useful again.

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
10 Replies
9041 Views
Last post April 24, 2008, 07:03:03 PM
by Cory
8 Replies
2399 Views
Last post February 06, 2011, 03:04:44 PM
by Hammers
2 Replies
1437 Views
Last post May 08, 2011, 08:38:05 AM
by Argonor
1 Replies
1507 Views
Last post March 25, 2012, 09:21:56 AM
by Sunray61
6 Replies
1651 Views
Last post April 14, 2012, 06:33:06 PM
by janner