Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 29, 2024, 01:28:54 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Recent

Author Topic: New to 15mm Colonial Wargaming Need help with rules  (Read 1552 times)

Offline drownte

• Bookworm
New to 15mm Colonial Wargaming Need help with rules
« on: June 25, 2013, 08:24:05 PM »
So I have been playing with warhammer 40k for sometime and finally bit the bullet and moved to my true love of Colonial period wargaming with a purchase of Old Glory15 15mm Imperial Chinese Infantry. I have a deep love affair with China's post Taiping Rebellion Army up through the Boxer Rebellion. Upon their arrival I based them individually on pennies and I was going to buy movement trays from warbases to both game and display them once they're painted. But before I placed my order I realized I needed to see what rules I'm going to use.....and then I became confused. I've never done historical wargaming before so I don't know which rules work best for 15mm colonial wargaming. I've looked at TSATF and Din of Battle both but I haven't bought either yet. I plan to game the post Taiping era as aforementioned and I don't yet have an opponent so I was wondering if you all could give me some advice on here. Any is much welcomed, thank you!
P.S.
Most of my gaming experience is 40k so I apologize for my ignorance to "action decks" and Platoon vs Battalion gaming (though I do know the numerical unit size difference) and such, thanks for the help!

Offline drownte

• Bookworm
Re: New to 15mm Colonial Wargaming Need help with rules
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2013, 08:35:30 PM »
Okay done a bit more research and am starting to lean towards Din of Battle...... Thoughts?

Offline TheBlackCrane

• Mad Scientist
    • Tales of the Black Crane
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2013, 09:07:45 PM »
I'm sure I read a rather good AAR of a game using that somewhere. It might be my imagination. I'll have a dig and see if I can find it.