Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 29, 2024, 04:43:53 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Recent

Author Topic: Greetings and salmutations!  (Read 2119 times)

Offline diehard

• Mad Scientist
Greetings and salmutations!
« on: August 14, 2013, 01:55:24 AM »
Hello and an Ia! Ia! to one and all. Took me a little while to get here, but now that I am it seems like the inevitable conclusion of my journey. I'm an older painter/modeler/gamer, on and off for close to 40 years now (I"m 54.) Now, my oldest and treasured minis are my collection of the CoC monsters by Grenadier, which I have multiples of the majority of, in lead. Still think that the majority of those are the nicest Cthulhu Mythos sculpts yet.

Now, I remember when SA was released, it was right when we discovered my mom had cancer, and at the time I was a little perturbed I'd missed the HPL figure so I passed on the game. I also was a PG for Privateer Press at the time, but having to care for my mother and slowly becoming a little disallusioned with PP I sort of got away from gaming in general, although I still painted a bit here and there.

Up until last year, when I learned about Kickstarter. which brought me back to gaming in general. And then came Cthulhu Wars. I was all over that, and went to my other house and dug out most of my Lovecraft books (and also realizing that I originally read Call of Cthulhu in 1969!) It was there I saw SA referenced so I looked it up again and was happy to see how far it had gotten. But also a little put off that I couldn't get the first two issues of STOMAM  any longer. But a lucky trip to eBay netted me the first issue, so I bit the bullet and ordered The Bundle of the Beast. And it arrived today. (Also, if anybody has any leadS to a hard copy of the second issue it would be greatly appreciated!)