Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 25, 2024, 08:38:14 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Recent

Author Topic: How to Build a Trojan Horse- pt 1, pt 2-page1 pt 3-page3  (Read 12756 times)

Offline Andym

• Supporting Adventurer
  • Galactic Brain
How to Build a Trojan Horse- pt 1, pt 2-page1 pt 3-page3
« on: April 02, 2014, 09:27:29 AM »
Right, so this thread is supposed to be aimed at those maybe just starting out in the gaming world. I hope to show that its not rocket science to building decent terrain.  I'm going to try and explain everything and show a step by step in pictures. If you think there's maybe a better way of explaining what I'm doing or an criticism in my process, I'd love some feedback! That way I can edit my post and hopefully find the best way to teach new peeps!

So, to start.. The reason I'm doing this is. I started playing Crooked Dices 7thVoyage about a year ago. I have a wee board already built but not much scenery. I had an idea that it might be fun to play a Trojan Horse scenario. The idea being that troops inside the horse would have to exit it and race to light beacons to signal their army before being stopped/killed by the castle guards. Big problem....when you search the net, there isn't many(if any!!) 28mm scale models out there! They all seem to be paper craft ones! So this is how I plan to build one from scratch.

I plan to do the tutorial in three parts...

1. How to sculpt wood effect over a cheap toy.

2. How to sculpt the wooden mane/tail.

3. How to build the carriage it'll ride on.

I plan to show the steps as I build myself, so there may be a wee bit of time between tutorials.

So here goes....

First the tools. To do this wee aren't going to need much and it'll be fairly cheap!

Items required....