Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 29, 2024, 08:56:55 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 1691095
  • Total Topics: 118371
  • Online Today: 880
  • Online Ever: 2235
  • (October 29, 2023, 01:32:45 AM)
Users Online

Recent

Author Topic: Ramblings of a frugal wargamer  (Read 5155 times)

Offline dwbullock

• Scientist
Ramblings of a frugal wargamer
« on: September 13, 2014, 02:17:46 AM »
I have little time to play these days -- and when I do manage a game, I get to play with my seven year old daughter.  Sometimes my two year old son helps.  So anything I build has to be tough.  And cheap.  My goal is to make terrain at under $5 a piece, that looks good and withstands pressure.  The terrain also has to be useable.  Super heroes often perch atop an oil tank before pouncing on my villains.

I also know I am a table top painter, at best.  Though I have tried to get better, having read many, many excellent posts on this forum (and others, but mostly this forum).  I'm really trying to forge myself into a terrain builder/converter with a certain style.

This is my most recent acquisition --80 cents. 

One thought I have had:  would a drill bit looking thing work for this?  Any other suggestions on how to finish this?

Thanks,
Dave

Offline has.been

• Galactic Brain
Re: Ramblings of a frugal wargamer
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2014, 07:13:06 AM »
Build a platform & steps underneath where the 'drill bit' is pointing & you have a teleport device to another world/dimention or time. If you put that in the middle of your table you can have 'present world (Earth) on one half & whatever you want on the other half e.g.Alien world/ Ancient Rome/Inside a human body (like the film 'Fantastic Voyage,) You get from one to another via the 'Teleport/Micromiser'  Chase the bad guys to all sorts of interesting places/times.

Offline smokezombie

• Mad Scientist