Forum > Call of Cthulhu

Cthulhu/ AWI

(1/4) > >>

thejammedgatling:
Hi there,

I'm thinking of setting up a game of alternate American War of Independance and writing in a Cthulhu Mythos byline. I'm thinking redcoats defending a New England fishing town from hordes of deep ones or American militia fending off Indians supported by the Wendigo etc etc.. Now, I'm new to this part of the forum and have only played Cthulhu as an RPG so know little of the figures available. So sorry if it's an obvious request but ...where do I go for the figures and what rules set should I use to do something like this? Also, anyone else out there done something like this (love to see some pics).

Cheers
TJG

Captain Blood:
Lovely idea.
The Perrys have a huge AWI range for both their own label and Foundry. Pretty much the definitive range(s) I would say.
But if I was starting on AWI, I think I'd find it very hard to resist the 40mm offerings from Front Rank and Trident. Take a look here: http://www.miniatureservicecenter.com/msc-40mm.htm
Both the Front Rank and Trident AWI figures are little short of superlative. Trident also do a matching seafarers range which would suit your proposed scenario a treat.

Unfortunately, I don't think anyone does 40mm Cthulhu though  :(
Otherwise, for this project, I think the 40mm stuff would be the way to go.

thejammedgatling:

--- Quote from: Captain Blood on September 07, 2008, 01:39:54 PM ---Lovely idea.
The Perrys have a huge AWI range for both their own label and Foundry. Pretty much the definitive range(s) I would say.

--- End quote ---

Cheers

I already have quite a few of the Perry AWI figures and some buildings to the scale. It was really more the Cthulhu stuff I was after plus anyone who has played something like this before who might have some advice.

Uncle Mike: