Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 28, 2024, 03:24:35 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Recent

Author Topic: Please help me put together a portable painting set  (Read 8583 times)

Offline oxiana

• Mastermind
Please help me put together a portable painting set
« on: December 15, 2014, 06:06:32 AM »
It's been quite the time since I last posted on LAF. I drifted away from the hobby, but now I want to come back!

Work and life commitments mean that I've been of no fixed abode for the last three years, with all my stuff in storage (briefly: I'm a travel writer, my partner is an aid-worker: we do lots of six to nine month stints in different countries). But you know, I miss the relaxation and enjoyment of painting minis...

I have access to part of my stash of based and primed minis, but not any of my paints or brushes. I figured I could put together a basic painting kit that I can stash in my luggage the next time I hit the road.

So, my request to the group is for suggestions for putting together a decent range of paints - small enough to be portable, but broad enough to cover the essentials. Oh, and while I'm asking – I'm a bit out of touch with good, reasonably-priced brushes, so any ideas there would be very welcome.

Thanks for any suggestions – they're most gratefully received! 

Offline Malamute

• Prince of Darkness
  • Supporting Adventurer
  • Elder God
    • Boot Hill Miniatures
Re: Please help me put together a portable painting set
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2014, 04:49:45 PM »
Good to see you back Paul ;)

You could do a lot worse than choose from the Foundry triad paint system.

My choice of brush is a Windsor and Newton Series 7 Kolinsky sable.

http://www.winsornewton.com/uk/shop/brushes/water-colour/series-7-kolinsky-sable-brushes
"These creatures do not die like the bee after the first sting, but go on age after age, feeding on the blood of the living"  - Abraham Van Helsing