Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 29, 2024, 02:09:49 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 1691135
  • Total Topics: 118375
  • Online Today: 905
  • Online Ever: 2235
  • (October 29, 2023, 01:32:45 AM)
Users Online

Recent

Author Topic: Primary (or Elementary) Wargaming Club - Founding of Cardboard Carson 31/05/15  (Read 7578 times)

Offline admiraldick

• Librarian
hi all,

I've decided to set myself a challenge.

The Challenge
I'm a primary school teacher and my experience with running various gaming experiences within school has boosted my confidence; I've decided to take the plunge and set up a miniature wargames club at school. however, the kids in my club will be between 8- and 11-years-old, which is pretty young by a lot of people standards. I realize that the hobby consensus is that 12 is about the youngest age anyone can take up 'serious' gaming. but I think that that is possibly because, as an industry, miniature wargaming has yet to develop in the way that video games and boardgames have. they have simply not tapped into the potential of younger gamer, with suitable gaming systems and miniatures.

there are plenty of parents out there that I think have picked up on this problem. when they have wanted to introduce their children to wargaming, they've struggled to find a ready supply of material to work with or that kids can get excited over.

The Reward
In making a club that is accessible to younger gamers and yet still meaningful and fun, I'm going to try and develop a format that encourages all parts of the hobby within sessions and not simply game play. we'll do terrain making, army list writing, model painting (maybe some simple conversions) and, of course, gaming. this will, I hope, make it exciting enough and engaging enough to keep kids focused.