Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 26, 2024, 01:22:18 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Recent

Author Topic: Quick questions about Pulp Alley  (Read 10531 times)

Offline Chris Abbey

• Mastermind
    • Sally 4th Wargames Terrain & Figure Storage
Re: Quick questions about Pulp Alley
« Reply #15 on: July 19, 2015, 11:58:47 AM »
I think that if the challenge reads 3 successes with any skill, you can use any skill including shooting and brawling, if you need 3 successes and you rolled 2, you've failed the challenge and take 3 hits.

You are right about Pulp Alley, I've been gaming for 35 years and it is definately my favourite because it is not just meaningless shooting and brawling.
Chris Abbey
Www.sally4th.co.uk

Offline d phipps

• Galactic Brain
  • Pulp Alley
    • Pulp Alley
« Reply #16 on: July 21, 2015, 07:17:19 PM »
... With Pulp Alley there were a lot a mini-stories around the plot points. Tintin near the dock searching for a encrypted journal and using deductive to help the rest of the crew, prof. Calculus using gagdet x to solve one peril, Snowy fight against a doberman .... it was fun!  :D

My brother (who is a very casual player) told me that he also enjoy the game a lot, he told me something like this "You know, in other games my feelings are that I'm just shooting and fighting, sure I have to take control of some objectives but the action goes around the fight. In this game the action is around the objectives and fighting it's secondary. It's like playing a movie :)".

Also, I have a question about challenges. A card says that I have to roll three successes with any skill or take three hits. 1) Can I use shooting and brawling? Or just might, finesse and cunning?. 2) What happen if I roll two successes? Would I take three hits or just one hit?