Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
March 19, 2024, 04:08:26 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 1685051
  • Total Topics: 118007
  • Online Today: 766
  • Online Ever: 2235
  • (October 29, 2023, 12:32:45 AM)
Users Online

Recent

Author Topic: New to Strange Aeons  (Read 2476 times)

Offline Skunk

• Student
New to Strange Aeons
« on: January 17, 2016, 03:03:12 PM »
Hi everyone! I'm new to this awesome game (I ordered the rulebook/PDF two nights ago). I was painting some models and I had YouTube on in the background and a Geek & Sundry Vlog started playing. It was Teri Litorco's 5 reasons to play Strange Aeons. I was sold on the game, then I checked out the demo packet, ate it up and immediately bought the rulebook.

I just have one question: How many zombies could I reasonably field? I have 120 Mantic zombies in my warhammer vampire counts that are getting lonely since AoS came out.

I am the mayor of candy.

Offline Uncle Mike

• Scatterbrained Genius
    • Strange Aeons
Re: New to Strange Aeons
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2016, 03:12:19 PM »
It will be hard to field that many...but, realistically, 5-15 should be plenty for most of your purposes. You should be fine with what you have! ;)

Offline WallyTWest

• Scientist
  • 'Lux Mundi'
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2016, 06:11:11 PM »
There is one scenero called "The Problem with Dead Things" on page 153. I only have 3 zombies, and this is "the zombie scenario." I ended up using a few models as "counts as".

This  is the only time my model collection has been insufficient, and at a 29 point list (a decent sized game) I was using a Mummy (8), Spectre (3), x9 Zombies (18). It ended in a really close match thanks to the zombie recycle rule- but it would have been a better game if I had chosen to go a little more zombie light. I would never field more than 5-6 as a practical rule.