Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 29, 2024, 05:48:30 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 1691081
  • Total Topics: 118370
  • Online Today: 843
  • Online Ever: 2235
  • (October 29, 2023, 01:32:45 AM)
Users Online

Recent

Author Topic: Ethelred's Page of Modelling Ignorance  (Read 1113 times)

Offline Ethelred the Almost Ready

• Mastermind
Ethelred's Page of Modelling Ignorance
« on: January 31, 2018, 04:30:32 AM »
I have been a somewhat indifferent painter and have been somewhat restricted in the types of figures I paint.  As such, there are lots of basic things I don't know  :?.  I could just do trial and error, but as I paint so little I doubt I would paint anything to replace a disaster.

Today I received some Black Tree Design fantasy miniatures.  These come with slotta bases. 
Do you fill the underside of the bases with anything to add weight?  The figures seem a bit top heavy.
Some sit quite loosely on the base, is a filler glue best to secure them?
The cavalry have a thin flat horizontal metal base rather than a more vertical bit of metal.  This sits on the slot rather than through it.  What is the best way to attach these figures?

Offline Westfalia Chris

• Cardboard Warlord
  • Administrator
  • Galactic Brain
  • Elaborate! Elucidate! Evaluate!
Re: Ethelred's Page of Modelling Ignorance
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2018, 05:47:40 AM »
I have been a somewhat indifferent painter and have been somewhat restricted in the types of figures I paint.  As such, there are lots of basic things I don't know  :?.  I could just do trial and error, but as I paint so little I doubt I would paint anything to replace a disaster.

Today I received some Black Tree Design fantasy miniatures.  These come with slotta bases. 
Do you fill the underside of the bases with anything to add weight?  The figures seem a bit top heavy.