Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 28, 2024, 09:12:58 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Recent

Author Topic: Looking for References for Transylvanian Boyar and Viteji 1590 - 1620  (Read 3190 times)

Offline Neilad

• Lurker
I'm new to this period and still learning. I was looking to put a Transylvanian/Wallchian FOG-R army together as I have friends that have put armied together for FOG-R and was looking for reference material. In particular the army lists, name Boyars and Viteji which I believe were the Nobility and next tier of class, however I've not been able to find any references to how this class of units would appear, dress wise. I wasn't sure whether they would be armoured like western appearance or still have a more eastern/medieval look. I'm contemplating getting the following reference book THE ARMY OF TRANSYLVANIA 1559-1690 by Somogyi, Gyozo, but looking to see whether the knowledge base that frequent this forum may have reference sites, pictures or could even recommend current miniatures that may be used to cover these unit types. Scale 15mm to 28mm doesn't matter as I'm trying to gauge appearance. Any assistance would be welcome.

Offline Julfdi

• Bookworm
Re: Looking for References for Transylvanian Boyar and Viteji 1590 - 1620
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2016, 03:20:16 PM »
The reference book You are thinking is a bit disappointing. Like Osprey with just the plates. Nice pics and better than nothing, but disappointing since illustrator has no doubt used something for choosing things to display and the way he has done it. That said I'll dig my copy when home and check what his boyars and viteji look like.

Offline Stecal

• Scientist
    • Pictures of my minis
« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2016, 05:35:21 PM »
Disappointing to hear as I just ordered that book...

Clear the battlefield and let me see
All the profit from our victory.

Offline WimVdB

• Librarian