Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 28, 2024, 09:06:14 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Recent

Author Topic: The Curse  (Read 1454 times)

Offline Unlucky General

• Supporting Adventurer
  • Scientist
The Curse
« on: January 01, 2017, 09:16:53 AM »

http://battleoflewes.blogspot.com.au/2017/01/rebel-centre-ward-commander-gilbert-de.html
Okay, the above link is to my latest development for my long standing and slow progression for my Lewes re-fight but that's really not what I wanted to write about.
At fifty I find I am still learning and developing my techniques so much so that within this project my latest efforts are making my previous ones sub-standard - the curse! I moved to making heavier lances with a graper for this figure and the latest batch of ten mounted knights (for a later post). The lance is also treated to three coats of wash - desert yellow, red/brown wash and a black wash. I don't do the obvious wood grain effect popular with many as I don't feel it would be visible at these scales. This and the latest batch of knights took for-ev-er! I painted until my back ached and it took more hours than I could have imagined. Now my previous knights with thinner and shorter lances (without grapers) look ... well, I'm trying not to. Anyway, after I finish the basing of the latest ten knights, a bishop and the above commander for the Centre Ward, I'm taking another spell from Lewes (at the 75% mark) as I'm anticipating the arrival of three heavy regiments of British cavalry for Balaclava - which I'm getting stuck into immediately.

Offline Madhouse Workshop

• Bookworm
    • http://psychosispc-themadhouseworkshop.blogspot.com/
Re: The Curse
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2017, 01:29:41 PM »
Even old guys, I'm not quite as old as you 3-4 years younger ;D, get better with practice.   

Offline Unlucky General

• Supporting Adventurer
  • Scientist
« Reply #2 on: January 01, 2017, 07:33:48 PM »