Lead Adventure Forum

Miniatures Adventure => VSF Adventures => In Her Majesty's Name => Topic started by: Craig on 07 September 2013, 08:02:24 AM

Title: IHMN FAQ's/Clarifications
Post by: Craig on 07 September 2013, 08:02:24 AM
Given the amount of excellent questions recently posed in the esteemed establishment, Charles and I are going to produce a new version of the Errata with a section dedicated to these.

We would like to engage your assistance. So, over the coming week, if you could list here all the questions you have asked or wished to ask regarding the rules then we shall endeavour to produce a comprehensive addition for you.
Title: Re: IHMN FAQ's/Clarifications
Post by: MalcyBogaten on 09 September 2013, 06:36:15 AM
This is just a reminder about the Maksmanship vs. Stealth talents.
As Discussed elsewhere. (Before the move)

Marksmanship does not ignore the Stealth bonus. (At least in games run by me)


Craig
I hope this is a valid question? Is this thread still active?
Title: Re: IHMN FAQ's/Clarifications
Post by: Craig on 09 September 2013, 07:10:48 PM
I haven't and it is  ;D
Title: Re: IHMN FAQ's/Clarifications
Post by: Polkovnik on 10 September 2013, 09:31:01 PM
A few areas that need clarification:

Marksmanship vs Zone of Shadows.

Can you run and use a mystic power in the same turn (e.g Mesmerise, Zone of Shadows ) ?

If you use a weapon that can only shoot every other turn, can you shoot, then run, then shoot ?
Title: Re: IHMN FAQ's/Clarifications
Post by: Diakon on 10 September 2013, 10:04:06 PM
If you use a weapon that can only shoot every other turn, can you shoot, then run, then shoot ?

I'd guess no since you're presumably using the second turns shooting phase to reload.
That's how I play it.
Title: Re: IHMN FAQ's/Clarifications
Post by: Hunter776 on 11 September 2013, 04:02:07 AM
I would completely agree. The reloading requirement is pretty much muzzleloaders, and if you've ever tried to load one while moving, you'll realize it's rather difficult.

Unless, of course, you're Daniel Day Lewis.
Title: Re: IHMN FAQ's/Clarifications
Post by: Polkovnik on 11 September 2013, 11:53:00 PM
I would completely agree. The reloading requirement is pretty much muzzleloaders, and if you've ever tried to load one while moving, you'll realize it's rather difficult.

So would you say you can't move at all whilst reloading ? Or just that you can't run ?
Title: Re: IHMN FAQ's/Clarifications
Post by: Hunter776 on 12 September 2013, 01:07:07 AM
Well, depends on whether we're modeling real life or doing a game.

Given the heroic types that populate IHMN, I would recommend letting them reload so long as they're not running.
Title: Re: IHMN FAQ's/Clarifications
Post by: Hunter776 on 12 September 2013, 02:00:42 AM
Another thing I believe should go into a compilation concerns the Machine Gun/4-handed rules.

It's not terribly clear whether both figures in a MG "crew" move at the same time. If they move separately, does the gun move with the first or second guy?

WRT shooting, it should probably be made clear whether both figures of the crew may each shoot the gun each turn, or whether only one can fire each turn.

I believe these clarifications would definitely help.
Title: Re: IHMN FAQ's/Clarifications
Post by: Diakon on 12 September 2013, 09:30:19 AM
WRT shooting, it should probably be made clear whether both figures of the crew may each shoot the gun each turn, or whether only one can fire each turn.

Also I think the gunner/loader relationship would be better served if you made it so that if the loader is killed then the Machine Gun can only fire every other turn. I don't think the move or fire  thing is a big enough penalty for losing the teams loader. Especially with a machine gun with a 30" range. It's a bit worse for flamethrower teams but these are super destructive weapons so they should be penalised if you've only got 2 hands to operate them.

What do you reckon Craig? That's my house rule for it anyway.  :D
Title: Re: IHMN FAQ's/Clarifications
Post by: MalcyBogaten on 12 September 2013, 12:13:47 PM
If we want Large Robotic minions (slightly larger than mansize and say upto small vehicle size)

Would it be an idea to pay for the Strongman Talent once per heavy weapon? I'm thinking of only 2 weapons 1 for each arm/side mount in the extreme.

Mind you I do have some Reaper Iron Golems painted in Brass with multiple cannon mounts. (But they are silly!)

The question about moving weapon teams has really thrown a spanner into my brain as well. All sorts of combinations of moving one man then losing the other due to Knockdown/HTH/Death! Even in some cases, if one man holds the nozzle while the other holds the reservoir/fuel for steam or flame weapons. (Connected together in effect)

Hmmm? Good luck.
Title: Re: IHMN FAQ's/Clarifications
Post by: Diakon on 12 September 2013, 04:38:44 PM
Can your robotic minions fire more than one weapon per turn? If they can then pay for strongman for each weapon they can fire simultaneously. Otherwise just pay for it once. I don't think anyone can fire 2 weapons a turn.
Title: Re: IHMN FAQ's/Clarifications
Post by: MalcyBogaten on 12 September 2013, 06:36:36 PM
Quote
Can your robotic minions fire more than one weapon per turn? If they can then pay for strongman for each weapon they can fire simultaneously. Otherwise just pay for it once. I don't think anyone can fire 2 weapons a turn.

Yeah. That's the beauty of this. I hadn't thought of that.
I think it would depend upon the complexity of the difference engine that was being used as a control mechanism?

Or in true mad science/magic use, maybe how many brains are involved?

Interesting! I've got to come up with something to act as a generator figure/mechanism now.

I'm prepared to spend points on it. 

Title: Re: IHMN FAQ's/Clarifications
Post by: Diakon on 12 September 2013, 08:56:35 PM
Yeah. That's the beauty of this. I hadn't thought of that.
I think it would depend upon the complexity of the difference engine that was being used as a control mechanism?

Or in true mad science/magic use, maybe how many brains are involved?

Interesting! I've got to come up with something to act as a generator figure/mechanism now.

I'm prepared to spend points on it. 



Well, a Steam Dynamo should do the trick for the main control. Maybe an arc generator powering it's "brain"? Not sure.
Title: Re: IHMN FAQ's/Clarifications
Post by: MalcyBogaten on 13 September 2013, 06:37:49 PM
Here's a new one.
The Mystical Power Spitfire.

Do you add the casters Shooting Value to the +2 and the D10 Roll?

I think you should seeing as it is quite an expensive Power at 21 points.
But, it is only limited by line of sight.

Discuss.

Malc
Title: Re: IHMN FAQ's/Clarifications
Post by: Diakon on 13 September 2013, 08:03:50 PM
Here's a new one.
The Mystical Power Spitfire.

Do you add the casters Shooting Value to the +2 and the D10 Roll?

I think you should seeing as it is quite an expensive Power at 21 points.
But, it is only limited by line of sight.

Discuss.

Malc

Yeah, after you pass your pluck test, you treat it as any other ranged weapon. I assume.  lol

Title: Re: IHMN FAQ's/Clarifications
Post by: twrchtrwyth on 15 September 2013, 09:49:15 PM
Why does a bedouin's horse upgrade cost 11 points?
Title: Re: IHMN FAQ's/Clarifications Bedouin Horse?
Post by: MalcyBogaten on 17 September 2013, 07:38:03 AM
Yeah? I can see where 5pts for the horse would be spent. But there's no mention of any other benefits in the other 6 remaining points.

Are we talking Wind and the Lion style steadiness while the rider performs trick shots? lol

Title: Re: IHMN FAQ's/Clarifications
Post by: oabee on 23 September 2013, 01:07:03 AM
A few areas that need clarification:
Marksmanship vs Zone of Shadows.
Can you run and use a mystic power in the same turn (e.g Mesmerise, Zone of Shadows ) ?
If you use a weapon that can only shoot every other turn, can you shoot, then run, then shoot ?

1. Zone of Shadows should negate the Marksmanship bonus unless the marksman is Impervious.

2. I believe you should not be able to run and use a Mystic Power in the same turn.

3. Similarly, I believe you should not be able to "reload" a weapon that shoots every other turn while running. If it's that important to you, make up a Talent that would allow such a thing and pay 5 points per figure for it. Call it the Hawkeye Talent.

I'm just sayin'.
Title: Re: IHMN FAQ's/Clarifications
Post by: twrchtrwyth on 28 September 2013, 11:01:41 AM
Why does a bedouin's horse upgrade cost 11 points?
Bump.
Title: Re: IHMN FAQ's/Clarifications
Post by: Craig on 28 September 2013, 11:56:49 AM
Bump.

A Bedouin Horse is a Cavalry Horse (9 points) that is not afraid of Camels (+2 points)  :D
Title: Re: IHMN FAQ's/Clarifications
Post by: twrchtrwyth on 28 September 2013, 12:06:55 PM
Thank you.
Title: Re: IHMN FAQ's/Clarifications
Post by: MalcyBogaten on 30 September 2013, 07:25:47 PM
Quote
A Bedouin Horse is a Cavalry Horse (9 points) that is not afraid of Camels (+2 points)  Cheesy

So. Is a Cavalry Horse mentioned in one of the new rulebooks then?

I can only find Horse.
Title: Re: IHMN FAQ's/Clarifications
Post by: Dewbakuk on 30 September 2013, 07:34:40 PM
It's in the HV&F book along with a useful page listing the relevant updates.
Title: Re: IHMN FAQ's/Clarifications
Post by: Craig on 30 September 2013, 08:10:09 PM
Indeed it is, as part of a Bestiary covering a range of animals and extraordinary creatures... :D
Title: Re: IHMN FAQ's/Clarifications
Post by: MalcyBogaten on 01 October 2013, 02:52:34 AM
Quote
Indeed it is, as part of a Bestiary covering a range of animals and extraordinary creatures...

Ahh! Just what I need for my 'League of Extra-ordinary Andimals'.

(Now just need some extra-ordinary figures)

Ta!
Title: Re: IHMN FAQ's/Clarifications
Post by: FionaWhite on 24 October 2013, 01:22:18 PM
Does a Mystical Power that's meant to act as a shooting attack need to allow Pluck save?
Checking by the Spitfire power the answer'd be no so if the new power was to allow it, would the target receive 2 Pluck saves, first to ignore the power and second to survive it?

In addition what are the costs of adding +SV to a Mystical Power like this? I'd calculate according to the weapon costs but Spitfire has +2 yet this doesn't seem to add to its cost.
Title: Re: IHMN FAQ's/Clarifications
Post by: twrchtrwyth on 29 October 2013, 06:19:44 PM
Does a Mystical Power that's meant to act as a shooting attack need to allow Pluck save?
Checking by the Spitfire power the answer'd be no so if the new power was to allow it, would the target receive 2 Pluck saves, first to ignore the power and second to survive it?

In addition what are the costs of adding +SV to a Mystical Power like this? I'd calculate according to the weapon costs but Spitfire has +2 yet this doesn't seem to add to its cost.
Bump.
Title: Re: IHMN FAQ's/Clarifications
Post by: twrchtrwyth on 29 October 2013, 06:33:47 PM
Do the points for a sappers scout and bulldog need changing to 59 and 63 in the British Rifle Company list?

Does the machine gun armed Kaiser Wilhelm walker option in the Thule list need changing to 107 points?

Does the Cherokee walker option in the US marine list need changing to 44 points?
Title: Re: IHMN FAQ's/Clarifications
Post by: Craig on 30 October 2013, 06:00:30 AM
In the Errata document published in June and available in the Bonus Materials section of the Blog you shall find the following corrections:

5.5 Mechanised Walkers
Addendum. Unless otherwise stated in their descriptions, walkers are unaffected by either Arc or flame
attacks. However, If such an attack hits a walker and a “steersman hit” result occurs then the steersman can be
affected. His Pluck roll will be at +1 if the walker has Armour less than 10, +2 if it has Armour 10-12 and +3 if it
has Armour 13 or better.
Correction. A Johnson Mk XII Cherokee walker costs 56 points (increased because of the machine gun cost).
Correction. A Kaiser Wilhelm walker with a machine gun costs 93 points (ditto).
Correction. A Scout walker costs 59 points (ditto).
Correction. A Bulldog walker costs 63 points (ditto).

Link: http://inhermajestysname.files.wordpress.com/2013/04/2013-06-26-ihmn-errata.pdf

I hope that helps :)
Title: Re: IHMN FAQ's/Clarifications
Post by: twrchtrwyth on 30 October 2013, 07:31:37 AM
I have the errata, and it's this errata that promoted my questions. Do the four points costs I mention need changing in the book?