*

Recent Topics

Author Topic: Questions about magic Item allowances  (Read 2394 times)

Offline Denizen Kane

  • Librarian
  • Posts: 196
  • French Army? What,s that?
Questions about magic Item allowances
« on: 31 October 2015, 03:08:08 AM »
If I have a wizard that is in possession of two magic items like gloves of casting and lets say a staff of power the way I read the rules it says I can only have one in my possession?
The world is changing so fast and we,re just trying to catch up...

Offline Philhelm

  • Scientist
  • Posts: 485
Re: Questions about magic Item allowances
« Reply #1 on: 31 October 2015, 03:32:04 AM »
My interpretation is that you can only have one magic item of a certain type (ring, glove, staff, amulet, etc.).

Offline Denizen Kane

  • Librarian
  • Posts: 196
  • French Army? What,s that?
Re: Questions about magic Item allowances
« Reply #2 on: 31 October 2015, 04:14:51 AM »
See this is the 1 million dollar question! Joe if you're out there a little clearedge would be most helpful!

Offline Philhelm

  • Scientist
  • Posts: 485
Re: Questions about magic Item allowances
« Reply #3 on: 31 October 2015, 04:32:02 AM »
From the rulebook:

Page 62, Magic Weapons and Armour:  "A figure may only carry one of each type of magic weapon or armour at any time, so only one hand weapon, one bow, one shield etc."

Page 63, Magic Items:  "A figure may only carry one type of any magic item at any time, so only one ring, one staff, etc."

It seems to me that you may have multiple "Magic Items," but that they must take up a different slot.


Offline tyrionhalfman

  • Mad Scientist
  • Posts: 985
Re: Questions about magic Item allowances
« Reply #4 on: 31 October 2015, 08:49:19 AM »
Yeah that's the way I interpreted it too.

Joe did say in answer to a question on bonuses to fighting that bonuses do not stack up for different magical items in the same situation, so no extra bonus for magical sword and magical dagger, but you would get bonuses for both a magical bow and magical sword as these are not used at the sane time. This would support the rules about having a number of magical items as long as they're different.

Offline joe5mc

  • Moderator
  • Mastermind
  • Posts: 1114
    • The Renaissance Troll
Re: Questions about magic Item allowances
« Reply #5 on: 31 October 2015, 12:06:17 PM »
A wizard may carry up to five magic items, but no more than one of each type. So, he can have gloves of casting and a staff of power. He cannot have a staff of power and a staff of casting.

Offline monkeylite

  • Scientist
  • Posts: 457
    • Moedlhafen
Re: Questions about magic Item allowances
« Reply #6 on: 31 October 2015, 04:20:45 PM »
Is a magic staff (eg staff of power) a magic weapon if you hit someone with it?

Esp. in regard to harming things that can only be harmed by magic weapons.

Offline WallShadow

  • Bookworm
  • Posts: 74
  • ...leaving a lasting impression
Re: Questions about magic Item allowances
« Reply #7 on: 18 January 2016, 07:00:23 AM »
So, would using magical armor preclude also using an enchanted shield?
Ok, tell me just one more time: _Where_ am i going, and _Why_  am I in this handbasket?

Offline joe5mc

  • Moderator
  • Mastermind
  • Posts: 1114
    • The Renaissance Troll
Re: Questions about magic Item allowances
« Reply #8 on: 18 January 2016, 12:57:45 PM »
Yes, a magic staff is a magic weapon, even if it confers no fighting and damage bonus.

Well, a wizard can't use magical armour (usually) or shields, but a captain could have both.

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
2 Replies
1937 Views
Last post 01 April 2011, 02:35:13 PM
by the-devils-sotnia
40 Replies
10157 Views
Last post 30 November 2011, 01:19:56 PM
by dijit
6 Replies
3012 Views
Last post 10 July 2012, 01:57:40 PM
by Heldrak
31 Replies
7312 Views
Last post 16 September 2013, 09:38:08 AM
by blockhaus
18 Replies
5312 Views
Last post 06 May 2022, 05:42:19 PM
by Hobgoblin