*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
June 23, 2024, 11:33:03 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 1698717
  • Total Topics: 118929
  • Online Today: 654
  • Online Ever: 2235
  • (October 29, 2023, 01:32:45 AM)
Users Online

Recent

Author Topic: Questions about magic Item allowances  (Read 1953 times)

Offline Denizen Kane

  • Librarian
  • Posts: 196
  • French Army? What,s that?
Questions about magic Item allowances
« on: October 31, 2015, 03:08:08 AM »
If I have a wizard that is in possession of two magic items like gloves of casting and lets say a staff of power the way I read the rules it says I can only have one in my possession?
The world is changing so fast and we,re just trying to catch up...

Offline Philhelm

  • Scientist
  • Posts: 484
Re: Questions about magic Item allowances
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2015, 03:32:04 AM »
My interpretation is that you can only have one magic item of a certain type (ring, glove, staff, amulet, etc.).

Offline Denizen Kane

  • Librarian
  • Posts: 196
  • French Army? What,s that?
Re: Questions about magic Item allowances
« Reply #2 on: October 31, 2015, 04:14:51 AM »
See this is the 1 million dollar question! Joe if you're out there a little clearedge would be most helpful!

Offline Philhelm

  • Scientist
  • Posts: 484
Re: Questions about magic Item allowances
« Reply #3 on: October 31, 2015, 04:32:02 AM »
From the rulebook:

Page 62, Magic Weapons and Armour:  "A figure may only carry one of each type of magic weapon or armour at any time, so only one hand weapon, one bow, one shield etc."

Page 63, Magic Items:  "A figure may only carry one type of any magic item at any time, so only one ring, one staff, etc."

It seems to me that you may have multiple "Magic Items," but that they must take up a different slot.


Offline tyrionhalfman

  • Mad Scientist
  • Posts: 994
Re: Questions about magic Item allowances
« Reply #4 on: October 31, 2015, 08:49:19 AM »
Yeah that's the way I interpreted it too.

Joe did say in answer to a question on bonuses to fighting that bonuses do not stack up for different magical items in the same situation, so no extra bonus for magical sword and magical dagger, but you would get bonuses for both a magical bow and magical sword as these are not used at the sane time. This would support the rules about having a number of magical items as long as they're different.

Offline joe5mc

  • Moderator
  • Mastermind
  • Posts: 1100
    • The Renaissance Troll
Re: Questions about magic Item allowances
« Reply #5 on: October 31, 2015, 12:06:17 PM »
A wizard may carry up to five magic items, but no more than one of each type. So, he can have gloves of casting and a staff of power. He cannot have a staff of power and a staff of casting.

Offline monkeylite

  • Scientist
  • Posts: 456
    • Moedlhafen
Re: Questions about magic Item allowances
« Reply #6 on: October 31, 2015, 04:20:45 PM »
Is a magic staff (eg staff of power) a magic weapon if you hit someone with it?

Esp. in regard to harming things that can only be harmed by magic weapons.

Offline WallShadow

  • Bookworm
  • Posts: 74
  • ...leaving a lasting impression
Re: Questions about magic Item allowances
« Reply #7 on: January 18, 2016, 07:00:23 AM »
So, would using magical armor preclude also using an enchanted shield?
Ok, tell me just one more time: _Where_ am i going, and _Why_  am I in this handbasket?

Offline joe5mc

  • Moderator
  • Mastermind
  • Posts: 1100
    • The Renaissance Troll
Re: Questions about magic Item allowances
« Reply #8 on: January 18, 2016, 12:57:45 PM »
Yes, a magic staff is a magic weapon, even if it confers no fighting and damage bonus.

Well, a wizard can't use magical armour (usually) or shields, but a captain could have both.

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
2 Replies
1718 Views
Last post April 01, 2011, 02:35:13 PM
by the-devils-sotnia
40 Replies
8762 Views
Last post November 30, 2011, 01:19:56 PM
by dijit
6 Replies
2427 Views
Last post July 10, 2012, 01:57:40 PM
by Heldrak
31 Replies
6380 Views
Last post September 16, 2013, 09:38:08 AM
by blockhaus
18 Replies
3252 Views
Last post May 06, 2022, 05:42:19 PM
by Hobgoblin