Gents,
For those that have played DitDC/have the rules, a question popped up tonight regards the deployment in the Planned Attack scenario.
The scenario set up says…
Planned Attack
In this situation the defender is awaiting the attacker in one of his towns or villages, or his camp in the case of an invading expedition …."The defender deploys 75% of the attacker’s points total. Both sides must deploy a baggage train on the table at the start. The attacker may choose to deploy along either a long or a short table edge. The defender must first deploy a village or camp, any fortifications he wishes to use, and all his figures, in his own half of the table. Up to 2 of his units may be in ambush: the rest must be placed on the table at the start of the game. The attacker must then place at least half of his units, plus his baggage, within 6 inches of his own table edge. He may dice to bring on the rest as late arrivals.
Question is…
Reading the above text …does the attacker choose the table long or short edge BEFORE the defender places down a village or camp, or, does the defender place the village or camp down first, THEN the attacker chooses to come on from his chosen short or long edge (now having seen which edge will give him most advantage to move onto his objective)?
It’s a bit confusing and affects the way the scenario plays out based on the 8 turn scenario time limit.
Any old hands at DitDC that can help on this would be appreciated.
Cheers
Happy W.