Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
March 29, 2024, 12:17:35 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Recent

Author Topic: Warhammer Ancient Battles: Chariot Wars - Rules Question (Camels)  (Read 6405 times)

Offline tikitang

• Mad Scientist
  • A shadow out of time...
Hi there!

I have a pretty obscure question regarding camels in WAB!

In the main WAB rulebook (1st Edition), on page 9 there is a line saying that camels do not count as "cavalry", as that term refers primarily to horses.

Later on in the book, it says that troops armed with missile weapons, that are riding on either chariots or elephants, get to shoot twice during the Shooting phase of the turn, as they don't have to concentrate on anything else, because they're not cavalry.

In the Chariot Wars supplement, there is a troop-type called Midianite Arabs, which feature in both the Israelite and Assyrian army lists. The rules say that these are two archers riding on a camel. Because there are two archers, my assumption (though this is never clearly stated) is that each of these riders gets to fire once in the Shooting phase, meaning each Midianite Arab model (camel + two riders) fires two shots per turn.

However, on a blog, I saw a guy mention that each of these models (camel + two riders) gets to fire four times in the Shooting phase, presumably because he thought that each of the riders got to shoot twice in the Shooting phase, as they are technically not cavalry, and therefore can concentrate entirely on shooting, much like chariot or elephant-mounted missile troops as mentioned in the main rulebook.

Can anyone clarify either way? Many thanks!
https://a-descent-into-the-maelstrom.blogspot.com/

"The things you own end up owning you. It's only after you lose everything that you're free to do anything."

- Chuck Palahniuk

Offline von Lucky

• Galactic Brain
  • Melbourne, Australia
    • Donner und Blitzen Wargaming