Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 27, 2024, 10:20:15 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 1690905
  • Total Topics: 118357
  • Online Today: 907
  • Online Ever: 2235
  • (October 29, 2023, 01:32:45 AM)
Users Online

Recent

Author Topic: 3D printed figures - insane amounts of flash??  (Read 609 times)

Offline Redshank

• Librarian
3D printed figures - insane amounts of flash??
« on: May 30, 2022, 11:09:39 AM »
I recently took the plunge into the world of 3D printed figures and put in an order through Etsy.

I eventually received my figures yesterday.

If I can ask a total newbie question - is it normal for 3D printed figs to come with a huge amount of flash?

Each of the figures is cocooned inside a lattice of the print material. It literally looks like scaffolding. It is going to take ages to remove it without damaging the finer detail on the figs themselves.

Is that normal??

Offline Vanth

• Librarian
    • Warcolours Miniature Painting Studio
Re: 3D printed figures - insane amounts of flash??
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2022, 11:21:34 AM »
I think you mean the supports: it would normally be easier if they are removed just after the printing process and before the curing, but I don't know how many people willdo this if they are selling the printed item. I think this should be clarified with the seller beforehand, some charge a little amount for that additional work
Vanth
"...there are more things in Heaven and Earth, Horatio, than are dreamt of in thyne philosophy..:"

http://www.warcolours.net
https://www.facebook.com/warcolours
https://www.etsy.com/shop/WarcoloursMiniatures
https://www.instagram.com/warcoloursminiatures/

Online Daeothar

• Supporting Adventurer
  • Galactic Brain
  • D1-Games: a DWAN Corporate initiative
    • 1999legacy.com
« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2022, 12:18:03 PM »
That's just bad service in my opinion...  :?