Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 27, 2024, 07:32:49 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Recent

Author Topic: Historical Wargaming stores in Canada?  (Read 1867 times)

Offline Deadeye

• Schoolboy
Historical Wargaming stores in Canada?
« on: February 25, 2024, 02:09:29 PM »
Hello guys, I'm fairly new to the hobby and trying to build up some armies, but I have limited knowledge on where to buy things. Any Canadians on here want to brag about their favorite LGS ( or online equivalent)

Offline Pattus Magnus

• Scatterbrained Genius
Re: Historical Wargaming stores in Canada?
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2024, 03:19:37 PM »
I haven’t found many that have a great selection of historical figures or games. Some carry a few books or boxes of figures by Warlord Games (usually for Bolt Action and maybe some of the other titles).

The exception is the Sentry Box in Calgary, AB. They have a large section dedicated to historical games. They carry many books and figures by Warlord Games and Flames of War, as well as products by smaller outfits. They also stock nearly every Osprey title and a bunch of other books that are good for reference material. They buy some second hand stuff when people sell off collections, so they sometimes have things available that are now out of production. I’m not sure about online sales (I have lived close enough for 25 years to buy in person), but they used to do mail order and probably still do.

Offline Deadeye

• Schoolboy
« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2024, 04:31:38 PM »
Thanks, Large Pat. The sentry box looks grand. I'll have to swing by the next time I'm out west.

Offline Will Bailie

• Mastermind
    • Will's toy soldier blog
« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2024, 06:36:53 PM »
Sentry Box is amazing.  It's the reason I got into wargaming after supporting my DnD and RPG habit all through junior and senior high school.  https://www.sentrybox.com/