Hi.
"Gatling or early water-cooled (e.g. Vickers, Maxim). Attacks can be split between multiple targets. If fired into a group attacks all targets equally (see 3.3.3)"
Alright so here is how I understand it. Lets look at Lord Curr's Man Servant he has a Machine Gun and a SV of +2 so he is firing at a group of enemies lets say cultist. He get to roll a Ranged attack at each member of that group using his SV +2 plus the SV bonus from Machine gun. So if there were 2 cultist that is two attacks if there where 47 cultist inthe group he gets to make 47 attacks. Machine guns as I read the rules are crowd control weapons. I also read it as the Machine gun allows a Character with SV +2 to attack two individuals outside of groups at +1 SV each plus the SV bonus from Machine gun Or a Character with SV +3 to attack three individuals at +1 SV or two at +1 and +2 respectively plus the SV bonus from Machine gun.
I may be completely wrong though and I would wait for Craig to verify this before using my interpretation of the