Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 28, 2024, 07:35:03 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Recent

Author Topic: Buying a 3000 euro 3D printer for fun and profit, help...  (Read 2173 times)

Offline YPU

• Galactic Brain
  • In glorious 3D!
Buying a 3000 euro 3D printer for fun and profit, help...
« on: November 04, 2014, 11:40:34 AM »
As the title says, I am seriously considering investing roughly 3000 euro's into a form 1+ and I would greatly appreciate you gentleman’s honest opinion on things.

As you could imagine this is a pretty big investment for somebody who is still studying, I could as well buy a cheap car for that money. I'll bring this back to hobby related but I'm going to give a bit of background.
I am a student goldsmith, and should complete my master training coming summer. In the past years I have noticed that many of my classmates are well aware of the potential of 3d drawing and printing but are simply not very talented or interested when it comes to CAD let alone printing. We got mandatory CAD lessons in school and I have become the go to guy for a lot of people on CAD troubles. The general outlook on shapeways is that it’s too expensive for small parts, and the printing detail is too rough. The only big advantage is the fact they started printing wax which can be used for lost wax casting. (The normal method used by goldsmiths)
Note that Form 1 also offers printable organic materials suited for lost wax casting, starting this month or so. I also live in the same town as the school meaning I could print and deliver the mandatory prints everybody has to do at a quicker rate and cutting the delivery cost.