*

Recent Topics

Author Topic: Frostgrave - Rules  (Read 453018 times)

Offline JohnDSD2

  • Librarian
  • Posts: 190
Re: Frostgrave - Rules (Questions, Errata, Clarifications)
« Reply #225 on: 06 August 2015, 01:59:21 PM »
Just need a quick clarification or two and sorry if this has come up before.

I assume that an Enchanter and/or his Apprentice, over time, will be able to fill every Soldier slot on the roster with a construct and be able to field a warband of just constucts?
At the end of a game a Construct that has been removed from play is destroyed? Or rolls as a soldier on the recovery chart? I assume the later.

Thanks.

Offline tyrionhalfman

  • Mad Scientist
  • Posts: 985
Re: Frostgrave - Rules (Questions, Errata, Clarifications)
« Reply #226 on: 06 August 2015, 03:51:03 PM »
Quick question sorry if it's been asked already. During campaigns, between games can you upgrade a henchman by paying the difference in GC between the two types of soldier or do you have to lose your initial investment and pay the full price for the replacement?

Offline JamWarrior

  • Librarian
  • Posts: 123
Re: Frostgrave - Rules (Questions, Errata, Clarifications)
« Reply #227 on: 06 August 2015, 03:54:58 PM »
Quick question sorry if it's been asked already. During campaigns, between games can you upgrade a henchman by paying the difference in GC between the two types of soldier or do you have to lose your initial investment and pay the full price for the replacement?

Full price by the rulebook.

Offline tyrionhalfman

  • Mad Scientist
  • Posts: 985
Re: Frostgrave - Rules (Questions, Errata, Clarifications)
« Reply #228 on: 06 August 2015, 04:04:17 PM »
Thought that might be the official case thanks JamWarrior. Is anyone doing anything different?

Offline Darkson71

  • Mad Scientist
  • Posts: 694
  • Rolling 1s so you don't have to since '95
    • Home of the ARBBL
Re: Frostgrave - Rules (Questions, Errata, Clarifications)
« Reply #229 on: 06 August 2015, 05:04:47 PM »
I doubt it, as you're not upgrading a henchman, you're sacking one and hiring a better one.
Home of the ARBBL
"I survived the 525"

Offline SBMiniaturesGuy

  • Mad Scientist
  • Posts: 702
    • SBMiniguys Blog for all things OstFront
Re: Frostgrave - Rules (Questions, Errata, Clarifications)
« Reply #230 on: 06 August 2015, 08:14:09 PM »
Will you be adding rules for Thrown Weapons? For example, a figure armed with a spear or dagger should be able to throw them to make an attack.
Play the game, not the players!
http://sbminisguy.wordpress.com/
Author for THW/NUTS, Rebel Minis, HR Games

Offline Awesomeshotdude

  • Librarian
  • Posts: 145
Re: Frostgrave - Rules (Questions, Errata, Clarifications)
« Reply #231 on: 06 August 2015, 10:59:03 PM »
Will you be adding rules for Thrown Weapons? For example, a figure armed with a spear or dagger should be able to throw them to make an attack.

I asked this somewhere else (can't remember where now) quite a while ago, and Joe said yes, there will be some thrown weapons in the next supplement (which comes out in November), but he didn't specify what type of thrown weapons.

Offline sureshaker

  • Student
  • Posts: 15
Re: Frostgrave - Rules (Questions, Errata, Clarifications)
« Reply #232 on: 08 August 2015, 02:48:59 AM »
Can you elaborate on the "Summon Deamon" spell"? Results and failure' please.

Offline JamWarrior

  • Librarian
  • Posts: 123
Re: Frostgrave - Rules (Questions, Errata, Clarifications)
« Reply #233 on: 08 August 2015, 09:03:28 AM »
Can you elaborate on the "Summon Deamon" spell"? Results and failure' please.

You'll need to be more specific in your question than that.  The spell seems pretty clear as currently written.

Offline sureshaker

  • Student
  • Posts: 15
Re: Frostgrave - Rules (Questions, Errata, Clarifications)
« Reply #234 on: 08 August 2015, 12:52:23 PM »
Does one specify which Deamon to be summoned? If one fails the casting roll but does not roll a 1, what happens.

Offline JamWarrior

  • Librarian
  • Posts: 123
Re: Frostgrave - Rules (Questions, Errata, Clarifications)
« Reply #235 on: 08 August 2015, 01:50:49 PM »
You do not specify type of demon, you just roll and the degree of your success determines the result.

Failing on anything other than one just fails and does damage to the caster as normal for any spell.

Offline pulpgoblin

  • Assistant
  • Posts: 32
Re: Frostgrave - Rules (Questions, Errata, Clarifications)
« Reply #236 on: 08 August 2015, 05:14:59 PM »
I have a couple of questions, I don't think they've been addressed yet (the one about walls came to me whilst reading clarifications in this thread):

1:  Its been established here that walls (from the Wall spell) can be climbed.  Do they have an appreciable thickness, such that they might also be used as bridges?

     (Both because that might be a lot of fun to play around with and because I'm looking at building a "wall of bones" terrain/spell effect for my necromancer...).

2:  Summoned/conjured/enchanted creatures that take treasure off board (most especially zombies, but pretty much any other that can carry treasure, too)
     - is it then possible to summon up another with a new casting of the relevant spell?

     This feels far too much like it might be "gaming the system" for my liking, but its bound to come up sooner or later.
     (And if it has already, my apologies, could someone point me to the answer/discussion).

Cheers.

Offline Calmdown

  • Librarian
  • Posts: 103
  • Wordy
    • Bad Karma
Re: Frostgrave - Rules (Questions, Errata, Clarifications)
« Reply #237 on: 08 August 2015, 08:45:57 PM »
I have a couple of questions, I don't think they've been addressed yet (the one about walls came to me whilst reading clarifications in this thread):

1:  Its been established here that walls (from the Wall spell) can be climbed.  Do they have an appreciable thickness, such that they might also be used as bridges?

     (Both because that might be a lot of fun to play around with and because I'm looking at building a "wall of bones" terrain/spell effect for my necromancer...)

We're playing it as minimum thickness, ie as thin as it can be, so no you can't stand on it. But you can climb over it. I don't think that's been officially clarified, but I'd argue that with no thickness specified it is essentially thickness 0".

Quote
2:  Summoned/conjured/enchanted creatures that take treasure off board (most especially zombies, but pretty much any other that can carry treasure, too)
     - is it then possible to summon up another with a new casting of the relevant spell?

Summoning spells either can't be cast in game (such as Animate Construct) or are specifically allowed to be cast in games (such as Raise Zombie or Summon Demon) so there is absolutely no reason not to do this with the appropriate spells and it is certainly not gamey!

Frostgrave blog and downloads: www.bad-barma.net (click me!)

 Hey Frostgrave fans! Click to join us on Facebook!

Offline Runekyndig

  • Schoolboy
  • Posts: 6
Re: Frostgrave - Rules (Questions, Errata, Clarifications)
« Reply #238 on: 08 August 2015, 09:46:45 PM »
    We have played a few games and a few questions have come up.

    1) Ring of teleportation (page 66)
Quote
Once per game, the wearer of this ring may spend an action to teleport up to 8”, anywhere within line of sight, but not off the board. This teleportation may be used to enter or leave combat.
Can I use a "move" action to activate the ring and then teleport into battle and attack?

2) Heavy and light Cover (page 40)
Quote
  • Light Cover +2 The target is in contact with cover that obscures up to half of his body. This includes other figures.
  • Heavy Cover +4 The target is in contact with cover that almost completely obscures his body. This includes other figures.
As I understand it my wizard can hide behind a thug, get heavy cover from the thug, and the thug is never in any danger. That don't make sence[/list]

Offline Westfalia Chris

  • Cardboard Warlord
  • Administrator
  • Galactic Brain
  • Posts: 7514
  • Elaborate! Elucidate! Evaluate!
Re: Frostgrave - Rules (Questions, Errata, Clarifications)
« Reply #239 on: 08 August 2015, 10:20:41 PM »
We have played a few games and a few questions have come up.

1) Ring of teleportation (page 66)
Quote
Once per game, the wearer of this ring may spend an action to teleport up to 8”, anywhere within line of sight, but not off the board. This teleportation may be used to enter or leave combat.

Can I use a "move" action to activate the ring and then teleport into battle and attack?

You must spend one action to use the ring, which allows you an 8" move into combat. Then, you may (or rather, must) spend the second action to fight the target figure. Latter part is wrong, see following discussion. Don't know how I messed it up.

This is quite clearly stated in the rules. If you are asking if you can activate the ring as part of a move action, i.e. move x", then teleport 8", then fight, the answer is no - you must use one action specifically to activate the ring.
« Last Edit: 09 August 2015, 08:33:43 AM by Westfalia Chris »

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
4 Replies
4021 Views
Last post 06 August 2015, 11:40:46 AM
by Green_Knight
4 Replies
4728 Views
Last post 22 September 2015, 04:31:24 AM
by Dakota Mike
4 Replies
4990 Views
Last post 13 October 2018, 11:00:05 AM
by FAB
20 Replies
7361 Views
Last post 28 March 2017, 03:44:23 PM
by schoon
11 Replies
3160 Views
Last post 01 November 2021, 05:50:32 PM
by Angrypantz