*

Recent Topics

Author Topic: Q? - Wizards vs Apprentices, Zombies  (Read 2494 times)

Offline Kamandi

  • Librarian
  • Posts: 185
Q? - Wizards vs Apprentices, Zombies
« on: 07 August 2015, 03:35:32 AM »
1. Do Apprentices roll against the same casting number as Wizards? I had assumed they would get a penalty but I can't it in the rules.

2. Raise Zombie - does the caster then need to cast Control Undead or is Zombie assumed to be under control of the caster? Same question for Summon Demon.

Animal Companion implies that summoned/raised/companion-ed creatures are initially under the casters control unless someone else casts control on them.
"Something had happened in the dim past...! A natural disaster coupled with Radiation! The people in the bunkers lived out their lives and died dreaming of a day of return---The radiation would be gone---and the world would be left waiting---"

Offline gary42

  • Mastermind
  • Posts: 1229
Re: Q? - Wizards vs Apprentices, Zombies
« Reply #1 on: 07 August 2015, 03:56:29 AM »
Ha ha Kamandi.  I bought in to Frostgrave as well:)

Apprentices roll at -2 penalty.  Page 22.  Not sure of the other.
"They seek him here, they seek him... There he is!"

Offline Kamandi

  • Librarian
  • Posts: 185
Re: Q? - Wizards vs Apprentices, Zombies
« Reply #2 on: 07 August 2015, 04:03:11 AM »
Thanks Gary42

I though it was -2 but when I had to look it up I couldn't find it!

Offline Philhelm

  • Scientist
  • Posts: 485
Re: Q? - Wizards vs Apprentices, Zombies
« Reply #3 on: 07 August 2015, 04:33:14 AM »
Quote
RAISE ZOMBIE
Necromancer / 8 / Out of Game OR Touch
This spell can be used both ‘Out of Game’ and during the game.
If successful, the spellcaster adds one zombie to his warband
(see Chapter 6: Bestiary). If the spell is cast before the game,
the zombie can be deployed normally. If it is cast during a
game, the zombie appears in base contact with the spellcaster.
A warband may only have one raised zombie at any one time. If
the zombie is killed during a game, Raise Zombie can be cast
again to create another. A raised zombie does not count
towards the warband size limit and remains with a warband
until the end of the game, at which point it crumbles into dust.

The necromancer does not need to cast Control Undead, as the zombie is added to the warband, and can even be deployed as a normal soldier if the spell is cast before the game, implying that it is already under the necromancer's control.

Offline Kamandi

  • Librarian
  • Posts: 185
Re: Q? - Wizards vs Apprentices, Zombies
« Reply #4 on: 07 August 2015, 07:54:48 AM »
Thanks Phil. I have actually read the spell. Zombies automatically being under control of the caster is certainly implied by "adds one zombie to his warband" . The Control Undead spell had me wondering if it was explicitly stated somewhere.

Offline JamWarrior

  • Librarian
  • Posts: 123
Re: Q? - Wizards vs Apprentices, Zombies
« Reply #5 on: 07 August 2015, 10:11:30 AM »
The two spells are indeed entirely unrelated.

Also confirmation in the FAQ thread:

http://leadadventureforum.com/index.php?topic=80477.msg990226#msg990226

Zombie/Construct/Animal Companion are all created with a base state of being on your side.

Demons are created with a base state of wild and then get the bind spell applied to bring them under your control.

Offline Philhelm

  • Scientist
  • Posts: 485
Re: Q? - Wizards vs Apprentices, Zombies
« Reply #6 on: 07 August 2015, 05:04:00 PM »
Thanks Phil. I have actually read the spell.

I wasn't trying to be condescending; it was just convenient for me to copy and paste the spell description in order to cite my interpretation of the rule.

Quote
Zombies automatically being under control of the caster is certainly implied by "adds one zombie to his warband" . The Control Undead spell had me wondering if it was explicitly stated somewhere.

It seems to me that Control Undead is a limited use spell that can be used to (A) control another necromancer's zombie, or (B) control a randomly generated undead creature (assuming random creatures are implemented).  It's too bad that the necromancer can't at least summon a few more undead creatures.

Regarding the Summon Demon spell, it is a bit different in that it states, "The demon is treated as though it is already subject to a Bind Demon spell."  I think the difference in wording as compared to the Raise Zombie spell is that a demon cannot be summoned between games and is therefore not "added to the warband" as such.

Offline JamWarrior

  • Librarian
  • Posts: 123
Re: Q? - Wizards vs Apprentices, Zombies
« Reply #7 on: 07 August 2015, 06:32:47 PM »
The difference is important due the possibility of dispelling.

Dispelling an Animal Companion or Animated Zombie or Construct will have no effect as they are now just normal members of your team.

Dispelling a bound demon will turn it wild.

Dispelling a Controlled Animal/Construct/Undead will return it wild if it was a wandering monster or back to its original owner if not.

Offline Kamandi

  • Librarian
  • Posts: 185
Re: Q? - Wizards vs Apprentices, Zombies
« Reply #8 on: 10 August 2015, 04:58:12 AM »
Thanks for your clarification chaps. I'm quite sure there is a decent game in there if we can iron out the details. I'll probably have more questions after a couple more games.

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
6 Replies
7125 Views
Last post 03 March 2009, 05:52:59 PM
by brigadegames
6 Replies
3385 Views
Last post 14 February 2011, 06:22:18 PM
by ushistoryprof
0 Replies
1025 Views
Last post 27 March 2012, 12:07:16 AM
by Tomsche
3 Replies
3488 Views
Last post 24 June 2015, 07:59:32 PM
by Argonor
9 Replies
2871 Views
Last post 12 August 2016, 10:40:05 PM
by beefcake