*

Recent Topics

Author Topic: Dark Age Battle with Dus Britanniarvm  (Read 2173 times)

Offline Fencing Frog

  • Scientist
  • Posts: 459
    • Fencing Frog
Dark Age Battle with Dus Britanniarvm
« on: 07 August 2015, 01:48:48 PM »
My Friend John and I met for a truly savage Darke age slug fest.  The Britons fought almost to the last man. 

http://fencingfrog.blogspot.com/2015/08/the-battle-of-fyrml-sld.html

Offline Elgis

  • Assistant
  • Posts: 46
Re: Dark Age Battle with Dus Britanniarvm
« Reply #1 on: 07 August 2015, 09:04:57 PM »
That was some bloodbath!

I'm surprised that the Britons didn't try to cut and run a bit earlier seeing as its a campaign....

Offline Fencing Frog

  • Scientist
  • Posts: 459
    • Fencing Frog
Re: Dark Age Battle with Dus Britanniarvm
« Reply #2 on: 11 August 2015, 02:53:41 PM »
That was some bloodbath!

I'm surprised that the Britons didn't try to cut and run a bit earlier seeing as its a campaign....

That is one small problem with the campaign system... the winner usually recovers his men faster regardless of how high casualties are.  I think John and I would have both backed off by mutual agreement if there was any way to resolve that.

Offline WillieB

  • Mastermind
  • Posts: 1474
  • Gotcha!
Re: Dark Age Battle with Dus Britanniarvm
« Reply #3 on: 12 August 2015, 11:43:50 PM »
That is one small problem with the campaign system... the winner usually recovers his men faster regardless of how high casualties are.  I think John and I would have both backed off by mutual agreement if there was any way to resolve that.

I believe there is. One of the sides can do a voluntary retreat and the 'victor' doesn't have to challenge that retreat.
Panic, Chaos and Disorder. My job here is done

Offline guitarheroandy

  • Mastermind
  • Posts: 1037
    • Andy's Wargaming Blog
Re: Dark Age Battle with Dus Britanniarvm
« Reply #4 on: 13 August 2015, 12:36:51 PM »
I believe there is. One of the sides can do a voluntary retreat and the 'victor' doesn't have to challenge that retreat.

Yes, that's correct. I did that in one of the games in the campaign I played when the rules first came out. I can't recall exactly how it works and don't have the book to hand, but it can be done.

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
9 Replies
1904 Views
Last post 06 August 2013, 08:48:53 AM
by Atheling
2 Replies
1761 Views
Last post 20 May 2014, 02:36:40 PM
by scarabminiatures
3 Replies
1567 Views
Last post 23 June 2014, 09:48:43 PM
by Devoted of Slaanesh
12 Replies
2773 Views
Last post 09 September 2016, 01:15:28 AM
by Too Bo Coo
6 Replies
1643 Views
Last post 15 December 2023, 09:47:19 AM
by Eric the Shed