Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 29, 2024, 01:25:47 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 1691075
  • Total Topics: 118370
  • Online Today: 804
  • Online Ever: 2235
  • (October 29, 2023, 01:32:45 AM)
Users Online

Recent

Author Topic: Samurai SAGA gaming in Melbourne,Oz  (Read 3274 times)

Offline werekake

• Librarian
Samurai SAGA gaming in Melbourne,Oz
« on: October 21, 2015, 06:28:27 AM »
Hello, thought I'd post some pics of a wargaming project my group and I embarked on - many many years ago - which culminated in a participation game we did at Little Wars Adelaide last year.

I guess, like everyone else, we were inspired by Perry's collections of Samurai - such beautiful figures, lovely details, wonderful movement and action. On top of that, I had some of the John Jenkins resin terrain, which is excellent in its design and detailing as well.

So my friends and I started painting our smallish forces - not really sure what set of rules we were gonna use.  Lon went for a similar Samurai force to mine, with lots of musket-armed ashigaru.

Jared has always been one for religious soldiers, so in a Sengoku-jidai context, went for the ikko-ikki.

I struggled to paint the Samurai. The Perry figures had so much fine detail - the individual armour pieces and the facial expressions included! I think I was also trying to give my samurai an individualised look, with armour that looked like it had been inherited in bits and pieces from family and friends, rather than a proper-looking battlefield suit of samurai armour.

So... I tended to get distracted by japanese terrain - telling myself I could use the terrain as a setting for me Infinity JSA forces as well...

I painted the tori-arch

And then worked on a whole bunch of Sarissa buildings.

So... I kinda drifted away from finishing my Samurai army

Offline Constable Bertrand

• Scatterbrained Genius
    • Make and Paint Blog