*

Recent Topics

Author Topic: Mind Control Test?  (Read 2417 times)

Offline Gorlab

  • Student
  • Posts: 10
    • Prestwick Wargaming Club
Mind Control Test?
« on: 22 May 2016, 09:10:07 AM »
Apologies for asking, but a couple of my buddies aren't sure when they roll for
dispelling the Mind Control spell? They think they get a roll after each action
rather than at the end of the activation, after their two actions? ... Walts

MIND CONTROL: Soothsayer / 12 / Line of Sight
This spell only affects soldiers and creatures. If the target fails a Will
roll against the casting roll, he temporarily joins the spellcaster’s warband
and can be activated as normal during the soldier phase of the spellcaster’s
turn. After each activation, the soldier may make a Will roll versus
the casting roll to shake off the spell’s effects. A spellcaster may only have
one active Mind Control spell at a time
.

« Last Edit: 22 May 2016, 09:13:53 AM by Gorlab »
"The thing's hollow .. it goes on forever .. and .. oh my God! ... it's full of stars!"

Offline JohnDSD2

  • Librarian
  • Posts: 190
Re: Mind Control Test?
« Reply #1 on: 22 May 2016, 10:39:13 AM »
My understanding is that it is once per turn, after completing both actions which make up a single activation. We have ruled that even 'do nothing ' is an action, so you can't escape the roll by simply standing still.

Offline jp1885

  • Scatterbrained Genius
  • Posts: 2110
  • "An enquiring mind is sufficient qualification"
    • My Frostgrave blog
Re: Mind Control Test?
« Reply #2 on: 22 May 2016, 11:58:45 AM »
My understanding is that it is once per turn, after completing both actions which make up a single activation. We have ruled that even 'do nothing ' is an action, so you can't escape the roll by simply standing still.
Yep, that's how I'd play it.

Offline Darkson71

  • Mad Scientist
  • Posts: 694
  • Rolling 1s so you don't have to since '95
    • Home of the ARBBL
Re: Mind Control Test?
« Reply #3 on: 22 May 2016, 12:34:04 PM »
My understanding is that it is once per turn, after completing both actions which make up a single activation.
Agree fully.
Quote
We have ruled that even 'do nothing ' is an action, so you can't escape the roll by simply standing still.
I'd disagree with that - if you don't "activate" the model, then they don't get an escape roll.
If my opponent doesn't want to risk using one of my soldiers then I'm pleased, as they're normally high value and/or in a bad position (for me - Barbarian about to charge my wizard) and/or carrying treasure.
Home of the ARBBL
"I survived the 525"

Offline JohnDSD2

  • Librarian
  • Posts: 190
Re: Mind Control Test?
« Reply #4 on: 22 May 2016, 09:20:25 PM »
We ruled everyone has to be activated because on P30 under Soldier phase last sentence
'Then, the secondary player does the same and on until all players have activated all of their remaining soldiers.'
So everyone is activated even if they do nothing.

Having said that my Soothsayer 'The Prophetess' would be very pleased to hear otherwise.
 ;)

Offline ChaosChild

  • Scientist
  • Posts: 206
Re: Mind Control Test?
« Reply #5 on: 23 May 2016, 02:22:56 AM »
Yep, everybody activates. Even if they do nothing and go nowhere.

Offline joe5mc

  • Moderator
  • Mastermind
  • Posts: 1114
    • The Renaissance Troll
Re: Mind Control Test?
« Reply #6 on: 23 May 2016, 11:47:39 AM »
Yup, everyone has to activate even if that activation results in nothing.

A player rolls to break the spell directly after he completes an activation. Usually this will be once per turn, although there are a few rare instances where a figure might have a second activation.

Offline Darkson71

  • Mad Scientist
  • Posts: 694
  • Rolling 1s so you don't have to since '95
    • Home of the ARBBL
Re: Mind Control Test?
« Reply #7 on: 23 May 2016, 02:43:54 PM »
Cool, thanks for the clarification.

So is there anything to stop a player Mind Controlling a piece into "committing suicide", like jumping off a tall building or getting into single combat with a deadly piece?

Also, could I Mind Control a piece, place them in base to base with multiple of my troops and then attack the MC with said troops, even if the spell is still in effect, and if so, can I elect not to defend from the attacks?

Offline Gorlab

  • Student
  • Posts: 10
    • Prestwick Wargaming Club
Re: Mind Control Test?
« Reply #8 on: 23 May 2016, 03:41:47 PM »
Thanks for clearing that up!

Walts

Offline joe5mc

  • Moderator
  • Mastermind
  • Posts: 1114
    • The Renaissance Troll
Re: Mind Control Test?
« Reply #9 on: 24 May 2016, 01:38:25 PM »
You cannot do anything with a Mind Controlled soldier that would cause 'certain damage'. So no jumping off buildings or standing in fire. You can however move him into 'near certain death' positions, such as attacking hordes of major demons. A mind controlled soldier who is attacked will always roll for the combat.

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
2 Replies
2234 Views
Last post 06 July 2010, 10:03:24 PM
by Daeothar
1 Replies
1458 Views
Last post 21 September 2015, 03:53:10 PM
by Terrathe
13 Replies
3796 Views
Last post 09 March 2016, 09:33:57 PM
by steeldragon
78 Replies
12835 Views
Last post 13 October 2020, 07:16:06 PM
by Atheling
13 Replies
1934 Views
Last post 08 January 2025, 08:04:39 PM
by Redshank