Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 16, 2024, 04:03:12 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Recent

Author Topic: Zulu war 28mm project  (Read 1530 times)

Offline Ranthony

• Scientist
Zulu war 28mm project
« on: February 12, 2021, 06:04:55 AM »
Hello folks,

I'm relatively new to the hobby, maybe a year in and have never gamed before as I enjoy the painting aspect first and foremost.

If I may, I'd like to ask for feedback on my figures from time to time as I recognise there is much room for improvement and there are so many talented painters here.
Some I intend to sell, others to create a battlefield diorama.

These are 3 sculpts by he renowned Paul Hicks for the Empress miniatures zulu war range.

I start with a black grey undercoat, fill in the main colours then wash in the appropriate colour, so red wash on red etc, then highlight a shade lighter and cover in soft tone before highlighting skin again.

Can I ask, what am I doing right/wrong, how do I improve (any quick tricks), do I need to change anything that's just 'not quite right'?

Any and all feedback will be much appreciated.
Exodus 1:10 KJV
Come on, let us deal wisely with them; lest they multiply, and it come to pass, that, when there falleth out any war, they join also unto our enemies, and fight against us, and so get them up out of the land.

Offline Norm

• Supporting Adventurer
  • Mastermind
    • Blog for wargaming in small places
Re: Zulu war 28mm project
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2021, 07:08:44 AM »
A lovely job, more of the same I would say :-)

Do you put a varnish on to protect the paint job?

Offline Ranthony

• Scientist
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2021, 08:27:17 AM »
Thank you Norm.

I'm content with the figures but really hope to be able eventually to emulate the work of charles baynon and Kevin Dallimore if at all possible.

I have found a style that's similar to baynon circa 2011 so a long way off yet.