Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 29, 2024, 04:55:15 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Recent

Author Topic: Macedonian Obsessions - added Hoplites & Horse Archers  (Read 3695 times)

Offline craigrdavey@gmail.com

• Student
Macedonian Obsessions - added Hoplites & Horse Archers
« on: September 06, 2023, 02:49:10 PM »
I’ve not done very much painting over the last few years, having burnt myself out on a couple of joint projects with BigRedBat (no hard feelings!) and pursuing other passions.

I have however been slowly working through some Victrix Macedonians and thought I’d show my progress to date.

This is the first unit I started painting about three/four years ago. I lost patience with the methodology I was using and started a second unit, utilising different techniques

« Last Edit: September 12, 2023, 04:45:19 PM by craigrdavey@gmail.com »

• Student
Re: Macedonian Obsessions
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2023, 02:52:12 PM »
So this was unit two. As noted above, it was actually finished before the previous one

• Student
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2023, 02:55:04 PM »
By unit three, my methodology had evolved a bit further. I think I simplified it a bit too much, so whilst quicker, to my mind it was less effective

• Student
« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2023, 02:57:32 PM »
Back in the swing of things with unit four. The shields worked out pretty well, with an experiment whereby I used LBMS transfers over a bronze metallic base, rather than the usual white. I also put a bit more effort into the faces

• Student
« Reply #4 on: September 06, 2023, 03:01:08 PM »
Unit five was a bit all in, with all pikes replaced with metal and shields sourced from Potbelly in NZ. Theses were then trimmed down to the correct size.