Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
March 28, 2024, 08:55:20 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Recent

Author Topic: Darkest Africa  (Read 15228 times)

Offline jimpan

• Assistant
Darkest Africa
« on: February 01, 2010, 06:03:35 PM »
Hi everyone,
I am going to make a Darkest Africa game but i would like to know a little about who fought who. I know that Britain and zulu fought but there are so many other armies aswell like belgian, askaris, baluchi and many more. Any help would be much appreciated  :)
Trapped in time. Surrounded by miniatures. Low on paint.

Offline cram

• Mad Scientist
Re: Darkest Africa
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2010, 08:02:11 PM »
I'm just getting into Darkest Africa myself  :) Concerning East/Central Africa you have alot to play with! There was often conflict between the Arabs and the native tribes, particularly the Masai it would seem, for example in 1856 a Masai raid on Mombasa wiped out the Arab garrison. In 1857-58  Arabs were at war with the Watuta (an Ngoni tribe), and in 1868 the Zanzibaris were defeated by the Ngoni. In 1871 Stanley aided Arabs in their fight against the warlord Mirambo and his Ngoni allies. The rebel Arab, Mbarak, with his tribal allies fought against Zanzibar from 1873-82. From 1875-80 there were rebellions by subject peoples against their Ngoni overlords. In 1876-77 Stanley's expedition fought his way across Africa. There was from 1878-81 a war between the Hehe and Ngoni. In 1886 Arabs attacked the Belgian garrison at Stanley Falls. From 1888-89 there was the Abushiri Rebellion where Arab and tribal forces attacked the Germans. In 1889 the German Carl Peters expedition fights its way through Masai territory. 1891 saw a civil war in Uganda. From 1891-93 you have the Swahili War of Arabs versus Belgians. From 1891-98 the Germans fought campaigns against the Hehe. British expeditions against slavers in Central Africa took place during 1891-98. In 1895 Admi