*

Recent Topics

Author Topic: Morale in Melee  (Read 2749 times)

Offline Ratman

  • Student
  • Posts: 15
Morale in Melee
« on: 20 June 2010, 05:07:34 PM »
Played a colonial game last night but only used the basic rules. A couple of questions arose.

1. A unit which won a round of combat had to take a morale test, due to the number of suppression markers it had. The unit failed the test and became pinned. It's opponents took a morale test for losing and passed, and then decided to carry on with the melee.
Does the unit which is pinned have to take another morale test similar to pinned units being charged?

2. A raw unit armed with muskets, and under "shoot" orders loses the initiative. When it comes to activate there are no eligible targets available. Does it still fire and then have to reload due to being under "shoot" orders?

Hope you can understand the above.

Cheers

I must add that the Stoic Natives gave the White Interlopers a dam good thrashing.

Offline Westfalia Chris

  • Cardboard Warlord
  • Administrator
  • Galactic Brain
  • Posts: 7511
  • Elaborate! Elucidate! Evaluate!
Re: Morale in Melee
« Reply #1 on: 20 June 2010, 06:32:03 PM »
Played a colonial game last night but only used the basic rules. A couple of questions arose.

1. A unit which won a round of combat had to take a morale test, due to the number of suppression markers it had. The unit failed the test and became pinned. It's opponents took a morale test for losing and passed, and then decided to carry on with the melee.
Does the unit which is pinned have to take another morale test similar to pinned units being charged?

In the same way as the charge bonus dice is only allocated in the first round of combat, the Pinned status would only cause the morale check (or destruction for raw units) if there was another charge conducted against the unit; i.e. continuing a melee against a unit which became pinned as a result of the first round is NOT a charge (as per playing a "Charge/Melee" order) and would be conducted as normal until you reach resolution. Remember to apply the penalties for Suppression Markers.

The pinned unit, on the other hand, could only withdraw using a move or attempt to play a Recover Order.

Quote
2. A raw unit armed with muskets, and under "shoot" orders loses the initiative. When it comes to activate there are no eligible targets available. Does it still fire and then have to reload due to being under "shoot" orders?

They do not shoot (and thus do not need to reload in the next activation), but the order is still "played" in that you cannot change to another. You'd best think of it as the unit preparing to fire, but missing the right moment, or being hindered by a drift of smoke obscuring their vision right at that point; thus, they "decide" not to fire, but won't do anything else this turn.

I hope you enjoyed the game nonetheless. If you have any more questions, check the T&T section (which I assume you already did), and if we didn't already answer it, feel free to post. :)
« Last Edit: 20 June 2010, 06:34:07 PM by Westfalia Chris »

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
5 Replies
4111 Views
Last post 22 November 2007, 08:15:27 PM
by Driscoles
4 Replies
2219 Views
Last post 17 August 2012, 04:43:12 PM
by Mr Black
21 Replies
6001 Views
Last post 17 May 2014, 08:32:43 AM
by Wirelizard
3 Replies
21810 Views
Last post 05 January 2015, 04:34:33 PM
by Driscoles
9 Replies
2562 Views
Last post 06 March 2022, 12:36:46 PM
by has.been