Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 19, 2024, 03:40:38 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Recent

Author Topic: Noob to railway needs advice  (Read 4230 times)

Offline Faust23

• Mastermind
  • Father of Sorrows
    • Strategic Elite: Skirmish Wargames for the Discerning Strategist
Noob to railway needs advice
« on: October 20, 2012, 05:22:04 PM »
Hi, so I'm a 33 year veteran of miniature painting, but am utterly clueless as to how to incorporate railway elements into my scenery.  I don't need a dissertation on accuracy, just a decent, "this will get you buy swimmingly" nudge in the right direction.

Here's the scenario: I'm looking to build a new Old West tabletop for my Brink of Battle convention demo boards.   The thought occurred to me the other day that it would be ubercool to have a railway and period accurate train running through the town. I have a 4'x4' board to work with and will have all terrain as separate modular pieces.

I'm looking at an S or O scale set up, but need an idea of what type of historically accurate train I should look for to get a decent setup for a generic 1885 old west town.

Thoughts?
Author of the Origins Award 2013 Nominated Brink of Battle: Skirmish Gaming through the Ages; Epic Heroes: Skirmish Gaming in the Realms of Fantasy; and Scrappers: Post-Apocalyptic Skirmish Wargames published by Osprey Games

Offline Cory

• Mad Scientist
Re: Noob to railway needs advice
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2012, 06:05:38 PM »
Bachman's On30 train set is about the best you can do but in the $200 range, though Holiday themed versions have been cheaper after the holidays.

The various Toy store ones aren't at alll accurate or to scale but as several threads here show they can be painted up well.

Offline FramFramson

• Elder God
  • But maybe everything that dies, someday comes back
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2012, 07:28:37 PM »