*

Recent Topics

Author Topic: EotD - Riposte when Discombobulated  (Read 9577 times)

Offline Saucy Jack

  • Scientist
  • Posts: 462
    • London by Midnight
EotD - Riposte when Discombobulated
« on: 04 February 2015, 09:21:04 AM »
In a game in our mini tournament yesterday a rules question came about. In combat if one of your models (armed with a sword) is Discombobulated does he receive the normal -2 penalty (Discombobulated in Combat) to the Riposte roll?

Offline jscottbowman

  • Scientist
  • Posts: 231
    • Scotts Wargaming
Re: EotD - Riposte when Discombobulated
« Reply #1 on: 05 February 2015, 02:45:29 AM »
I'd say not, as the reposte is kinda happening at the same time as the loser is wounded... but thats just my thoughts...

Offline Saucy Jack

  • Scientist
  • Posts: 462
    • London by Midnight
Re: EotD - Riposte when Discombobulated
« Reply #2 on: 05 February 2015, 11:00:46 AM »
I'd say not, as the reposte is kinda happening at the same time as the loser is wounded... but thats just my thoughts...
What if he was Discombobulated from the previous round?

Offline Holla_die_Waldfee

  • Bookworm
  • Posts: 53
Re: EotD - Riposte when Discombobulated
« Reply #3 on: 05 February 2015, 11:29:15 AM »
I would say "Yes". But can you list the steps of the scenery, so it maybe easier to understand.

Offline Saucy Jack

  • Scientist
  • Posts: 462
    • London by Midnight
Re: EotD - Riposte when Discombobulated
« Reply #4 on: 05 February 2015, 02:13:15 PM »
I will try:

- Two models engage in Combat - the Knight Marshall and a Zendarian Officer (using a sword), who is Discombobulated from a shot earlier in the round.

- The Knight Marshall wins the combat and the question is then; The Zendarian Officer wants to use Riposte. The Zendarians have a rule regarding Riposte that they can Riposte on a roll of 8-10, not the usual 9-10. Does the Zendarian Officer still only have to roll 8-10 or does the -2 penalty that he has in Combat from being Discombobulated apply here as well, meaning that he would have to roll a 10?

Offline Holla_die_Waldfee

  • Bookworm
  • Posts: 53
Re: EotD - Riposte when Discombobulated
« Reply #5 on: 05 February 2015, 06:32:29 PM »
Is this Riposte-Thing a Zendarian Special because I can't find anything in the Rulebook on first sight, where the Riposte Roll is described.

But discombobulated says, that the model only can perform movements, so I'm not sure if it can riposte. So first question should be, if it can riposte. When yes, I would just add the penalty to the +1 modifier.

Offline Saucy Jack

  • Scientist
  • Posts: 462
    • London by Midnight
Re: EotD - Riposte when Discombobulated
« Reply #6 on: 05 February 2015, 07:27:59 PM »
Is this Riposte-Thing a Zendarian Special because I can't find anything in the Rulebook on first sight, where the Riposte Roll is described.

But discombobulated says, that the model only can perform movements, so I'm not sure if it can riposte. So first question should be, if it can riposte. When yes, I would just add the penalty to the +1 modifier.
It is under the Zendarian Officers Club entry under Gentlemens Clubs

Offline Holla_die_Waldfee

  • Bookworm
  • Posts: 53
Re: EotD - Riposte when Discombobulated
« Reply #7 on: 06 February 2015, 08:02:20 AM »
Ok, that was the only entry in the Rulebook I found too. But it didn't change my answer the post before  ;)

I didn't play a Zendarian faction yet. Can you describe how you do this riposte roll, what are the effects? Is this a normal combat strike?


Offline Thunderchicken

  • Supporting Adventurer
  • Scatterbrained Genius
  • *
  • Posts: 3900
  • Amusingly clumsy.
Re: EotD - Riposte when Discombobulated
« Reply #8 on: 06 February 2015, 08:11:20 PM »
I'd say no riposte if discombobulated as the model is effectively stunned and can just about move.

What if he was Discombobulated from the previous round?

I haven't played for a few months but isn't it an automatic recovery of discombobulated at the end of each round?   
Don't!

Offline Saucy Jack

  • Scientist
  • Posts: 462
    • London by Midnight
Re: EotD - Riposte when Discombobulated
« Reply #9 on: 07 February 2015, 12:35:44 AM »
I'd say no riposte if discombobulated as the model is effectively stunned and can just about move.

I haven't played for a few months but isn't it an automatic recovery of discombobulated at the end of each round?   
It is. What I meant was that earlier in the round he had gotten Discombobulated condition from a missile attack and was then charged

Offline gary2bot

  • Lurker
  • Posts: 2
Re: EotD - Riposte when Discombobulated
« Reply #10 on: 28 April 2015, 01:46:57 PM »
Reposte is an attribute of the weapon (sword) and is listed under "Sword" in the melee weapon chart. The way I see it, If you can still fight in combat (and have one good arm) you still get the ability. My recollection (don't have the rulebook with me) is that when Discombobulated you can still fight but with only one die at a modifier & can't win combat. Since you will lose combat, that will trigger the Reposte attempt. Reposte is not an Action, so I don't see why you would have a negative modifier to the Reposte die roll or why the Faction Ability would be modified.

Now...if you are Down...you don't get to fight and are dead -No Reposte.

Offline Saucy Jack

  • Scientist
  • Posts: 462
    • London by Midnight
Re: EotD - Riposte when Discombobulated
« Reply #11 on: 30 April 2015, 11:42:57 AM »
Reposte is an attribute of the weapon (sword) and is listed under "Sword" in the melee weapon chart. The way I see it, If you can still fight in combat (and have one good arm) you still get the ability. My recollection (don't have the rulebook with me) is that when Discombobulated you can still fight but with only one die at a modifier & can't win combat. Since you will lose combat, that will trigger the Reposte attempt. Reposte is not an Action, so I don't see why you would have a negative modifier to the Reposte die roll or why the Faction Ability would be modified.

Now...if you are Down...you don't get to fight and are dead -No Reposte.
So you can't win combat, but via Riposte you'll be able to damage your opponent. This really sounds broken, and would not be the way I would play it.

Offline gary2bot

  • Lurker
  • Posts: 2
Re: EotD - Riposte when Discombobulated
« Reply #12 on: 30 April 2015, 02:00:09 PM »
I don't see how this is "broken". It's not causing automatic damage....you still need to roll a 9+ & in the case of the Zendarians - 8+. In the dozen or so games we have played I have yet to see a successful Reposte roll.....not even by our Zendarian player!

Offline Brummie Thug

  • Scatterbrained Genius
  • Posts: 2631
    • Brummies Wargaming Blog
Re: EotD - Riposte when Discombobulated
« Reply #13 on: 07 May 2015, 09:13:06 AM »
I would say no you can't as your stunned.

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
45 Replies
13117 Views
Last post 31 August 2012, 05:20:22 PM
by n815e
12 Replies
3518 Views
Last post 27 June 2012, 10:08:27 PM
by Legion1963
5 Replies
3396 Views
Last post 29 July 2012, 10:49:29 AM
by Centaur_Seducer
EotD at NWA

Started by Hat Guy « 1 2 » Gothic Horror

29 Replies
6953 Views
Last post 06 May 2013, 07:56:47 PM
by kidterminal
11 Replies
6631 Views
Last post 25 November 2014, 08:32:38 PM
by THE CID