Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 30, 2024, 02:18:34 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 1691268
  • Total Topics: 118383
  • Online Today: 606
  • Online Ever: 2235
  • (October 29, 2023, 01:32:45 AM)
Users Online
Users: 5
Guests: 481
Total: 486

Recent

Author Topic: painting over a grey undercoat  (Read 6293 times)

Offline The Black Rider

• Librarian
painting over a grey undercoat
« on: October 02, 2008, 01:11:59 PM »
I recently was given a load of minis to paint but the guy has given them a grey undercoat. I'm not used to this as I mainly paint with a black undercoat.

Do any of you paint with a grey undercoat? What is the reasoning about it? I do a black one so that it would help with the shadows (and also it is how i have been doing it for around 10 years!)

Thanks guys

Offline keeper

• Mad Scientist
  • All your dice are belong to us
    • Prince Azalea's World of Wonders
Re: painting over a grey undercoat
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2008, 01:31:53 PM »
I sometimes use a grey undercoat.  I also sometimes use black or white.

As you already know, a black undercoat gives an easy way of doing shadows, and blacklining with minimal effort.  However, it also usually produces a darker figure overall.  I use a black undercoat for things like orcs and monsters and anything that I want to have a darker, grittier feel - generally for bad guys.

A white undercoat generally gives a lighter finish overall, but you need to be certain of you ability to cover it it, because spots of white in the shadows on the mini just makes it look unfinished.  I generally use this for knights and heros and anything that is going to have a brighter feel to it.  Also I've found white to be pretty much essential if you've got a lot of bright colours, like a knight in white robes, or one of those yellow space marines (Imperial Fists?).