Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 28, 2024, 11:05:35 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Recent

Author Topic: Crisis Imminent – Hoping To Head Of A Workbench Disaster – Help Needed  (Read 6335 times)

Offline sleep when Im lead

• Bookworm
    • http://sleepwhenimlead.blogspot.co.uk/
Hi,

I've been fostering for a few years now and for the first time I am looking after this wonderful little kid who has taken to painting figures. This is great and something I want to encourage and I spend a load of time trying to help him out with it.

But...It is causing few problems and I am not just talking about there being more paint on the table that the minis. But there is. (Nearly as much on his clothes and the carpet too but I have found a way to handle that).

The first thing I am struggling with is the dwindling lead mountain. In three days he has painted more figures than I have in the last sixth months. I am going to run out of stuff to let him paint in about a week (The mountain is not that big). Other than that I will have to let him paint stuff that is actually in the queue. At a quick tally it's nearly £200 worth of figures. So the question is, where can I get some cheap figures? He isn't that bothered about what he paints but he is 11 and is just learning. Please don't say eBay as having had a look it seems people want to rob me blind.

Secondly, the actual paint (and some beloved brushes when I wasn't looking) he has gone through is huge. Has anyone got any suggestions about paint that is good enough but not at the premium end of the market?

Finally, anyone got any tips on how to teach an eleven year old to paint?

Thanks, in advance

Fred

Offline Steve F

• Scatterbrained Genius
  • Pedantic bugger, apparently.
For cheap figures, try em4 plastics: £5 for 20 ACW; 21p each for Orcs; "Space Rangers" £2.55 for 5.
http://www.em4miniatures.com/acatalog/FANTASY.html