*

Recent

Author Topic: Pulp Alley: Post Game Questions  (Read 3011 times)

Offline Arundel

  • Mastermind
  • Posts: 1221
  • Galloping Outward Into the Weather!
Pulp Alley: Post Game Questions
« on: March 20, 2016, 08:07:33 PM »
Sorry to ask another question regarding Pulp Alley. I've played two solo games to try out the rules and am very impressed. I have a feeling that for the foreseeable future these might be my go-to rules for adventure gaming. Tremendous fun!

I had a little trouble remembering all the characters' skills (playing solo means 2x the information has to be kept in mind, obviously, and I had a few facepalm moments, but nothing too serious), and occasionally got confused over which side had the initiative, but I'd guess these are mainly the "teething pains" one experiences learning any set of rules, and that they will go away over time.

The question that most stumped me regards what a character can do over the space of their turn. Here is an example that came up in one of the games: a leader was spending his second turn achieving a plot point (he was already at the pp, so no movement was required); he succeeded; now, I understand that solving the plot point was an action, but does solving it take his entire turn, or can he move 6", 12" after that action, since actions and moves are separate activities? Even more extreme, could he solve the plot point, move, and then attack an enemy? I am struggling a little over how many things a figure can do.

Second: my character shoots at a target that in turn shoots back (comparing shoot rolls). Let's say I rolled two 4's (successes) and he rolled a 5 and a 6 (also successes). The target has beaten both the shooter's rolls. Does that mean the target chooses whether to cancel out dice or choose hits, taking control of the process from the attacker?

Except for the that, the games went very smoothly, with almost no need to refer to the books at all. I'm quite excited about the possibilities for these rules. My games were set in mythological Greece, so it just goes to show how flexible the basic Pulp Alley engine is. Many thanks to Dave and Mila, and to anyone that can offer some help with the above.

Daryl  

Offline d phipps

  • Galactic Brain
  • Posts: 4655
  • Pulp Alley
    • Pulp Alley
Re: Pulp Alley: Post Game Questions
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2016, 01:00:30 AM »
Sorry to ask another question regarding Pulp Alley. I've played two solo games to try out the rules and am very impressed. I have a feeling that for the foreseeable future these might be my go-to rules for adventure gaming. Tremendous fun!

THANKS for the encouraging comments, Daryl! So glad you had fun playing Pulp Alley.  :D


Quote
The question that most stumped me regards what a character can do over the space of their turn. Here is an example that came up in one of the games: a leader was spending his second turn achieving a plot point (he was already at the pp, so no movement was required); he succeeded; now, I understand that solving the plot point was an action, but does solving it take his entire turn, or can he move 6", 12" after that action, since actions and moves are separate activities? Even more extreme, could he solve the plot point, move, and then attack an enemy?

Simply remember this rule -- The active character's activation ends immediately after they perform an action or resolve a fight. So in your example -  the Leader's activation ends immediately after his attempt to capture the plot point to resolved - regardless of the results.

I hope that helps. Please let us know if you have other questions about this.



Quote
Second: my character shoots at a target that in turn shoots back (comparing shoot rolls). Let's say I rolled two 4's (successes) and he rolled a 5 and a 6 (also successes). The target has beaten both the shooter's rolls. Does that mean the target chooses whether to cancel out dice or choose hits, taking control of the process from the attacker?

First - remember this -- The Defender (target) only has the option to match/cancel when they choose to Dodge. Otherwise, regardless of what is rolled, the active character (attacker) is the only one who can choose to match/cancel.

However, in your example - neither character will be able to match/cancel any dice ---

1. The target can not cancel any dice because he chose to shoot - instead of dodging.
2. The attacker can not cancel any dice because both of his dice rolled lower than the target's dice.

So the only way this can be resolved is the classic take-them-all situation - with both characters taking 2 hits each. Ouch! ;)



Good questions. Please feel free to let us know if you have others.

THANKS for playing Pulp Alley!

HAVE FUN

Offline Arundel

  • Mastermind
  • Posts: 1221
  • Galloping Outward Into the Weather!
Re: Pulp Alley: Post Game Questions
« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2016, 03:01:53 AM »
Thank you kindly for the response, Dave; that cleared everything up. Now to get ready for the next game!!!

Offline gweirda

  • Scientist
  • Posts: 206
    • Brawlfactory
Re: Pulp Alley: Post Game Questions
« Reply #3 on: March 21, 2016, 12:44:18 PM »
"...which side had the initiative..."

Having some sort of token that can be held (or better yet: worn, to keep hands free) by the player with the initiative may help.
Examples would be hat, crown, ring, medal (on ribbon)...with your theme perhaps some kind of symbol to represent the favor of the Gods? ...laurels, maybe?


For solo play, a token that can be placed with the roster of the team with the initiative would work.

Offline Arundel

  • Mastermind
  • Posts: 1221
  • Galloping Outward Into the Weather!
Re: Pulp Alley: Post Game Questions
« Reply #4 on: March 21, 2016, 01:56:17 PM »
Excellent suggestions, Gweirda, thank you. I especially love the laurel idea!

Offline d phipps

  • Galactic Brain
  • Posts: 4655
  • Pulp Alley
    • Pulp Alley
Re: Pulp Alley: Post Game Questions
« Reply #5 on: March 22, 2016, 01:13:17 AM »
This questions came from another Pulp Alley player via PM ---

Quote
Question: In the above example, would the attacker be able to control the dice if only one of his dice beat the defenders?

Absolutely.

First let me clarify that the attacker always has control of the match/cancel option - unless the target dodges. However, he can only use a die to cancel an enemy die of equal or lower value.

Using the same basic example, let's say the attacker rolled a 4 and 5 (instead of two 4's). And the target counter-attacks, rolling a 5 and 6.

Now the attacker has a couple options ---

1. He could use his 5 to block the target's 5 (cancelling both). In this case both characters take 1 hit each.
2. He could choose not to cancel any dice (take-them-all). In this case both characters suffer 2 hits each.


It is in these moments, that you get to decide how offensive/defensive you want to play. You've got to think about the current situation and how much you are willing to risk. So the way you fight actually matters -- and this is one of those BIG differences between Pulp Alley and other games.  ;)


And what if the attacker had rolled two 6's (instead of two 4's)? Now he has three options to consider......   :D

1. ?
2. ?
3. ?



HAVE FUN

Offline Arundel

  • Mastermind
  • Posts: 1221
  • Galloping Outward Into the Weather!
Re: Pulp Alley: Post Game Questions
« Reply #6 on: March 22, 2016, 02:19:02 AM »
1.) The attacker could cancel both (6's can cancel both 5's and 6's)--can't think why an attacker would do this, though
2.) He could cancel one, so that both attacker and defender take one hit (with one of his 6's cancelling one of the defender's shots, while the other "goes through")
3.) He could ignore both so that both characters take two hits

Is this right? I'm still having some trouble wrapping my head around this.


Offline d phipps

  • Galactic Brain
  • Posts: 4655
  • Pulp Alley
    • Pulp Alley
Re: Pulp Alley: Post Game Questions
« Reply #7 on: March 22, 2016, 03:25:11 AM »
Yup, you've got it correct!

Quote
1.) The attacker could cancel both (6's can cancel both 5's and 6's)--can't think why an attacker would do this, though

Yes, it would be fairly unusual. But maybe he wasn't expecting the target to roll two successes -- and realizing he bit off too much, he decides to play it safe at the last moment. It happens.  ;)

Offline Arundel

  • Mastermind
  • Posts: 1221
  • Galloping Outward Into the Weather!
Re: Pulp Alley: Post Game Questions
« Reply #8 on: March 22, 2016, 12:04:18 PM »
Got it. This really has been extremely helpful. Thank you for taking the time to provide such in-depth answers!

Offline pistolpete

  • Mad Scientist
  • Posts: 844
  • Rent money is for rent - telly savalas
Re: Pulp Alley: Post Game Questions
« Reply #9 on: March 22, 2016, 07:20:42 PM »
Quote
So the only way this can be resolved is the classic take-them-all situation - with both characters taking 2 hits each.

Quote
he can only use a die to cancel an enemy die of equal or lower value

i was under the impression the rolls were for "matching" not "cancelling" (yes i'm being pedantic).  in which case, with the original rolls, the attacker could choose to "match" the rolls and suffer 2 hits, with the target taking 0.  it's obviously an unthinkable/suicidal option but it's still 'possible' IIRC. 

why would anyone do such a thing???? well maybe there's a benefit like "rage" (extra attack if you clearly lose a fight) or "mirror force" (redirect all hits to another target) or "indomitable spirit" (take initiative if you clearly lose a fight) or "ghost" (ignore all hits once per game) - yes i know those don't exist in PA just saying that however unlikely/undesirable, it's still permissible.

just remember that if a target shoots/brawls/fights back, it applies for multiple combat penalties even if it's not their turn.

Offline d phipps

  • Galactic Brain
  • Posts: 4655
  • Pulp Alley
    • Pulp Alley
Re: Pulp Alley: Post Game Questions
« Reply #10 on: March 22, 2016, 11:44:47 PM »
....just saying that however unlikely/undesirable, it's still permissible.


 ???  I'm not following you Pete. Are you suggesting that the attacker could use one of his 4's to cancel his other 4?
Or are you suggesting you could match your 4's against the targets 5 & 6 - and thereby cancel your own dice? 

Umm...

Just so we're clear, control of the dice matching means this -- "you have the option to cancel one of your opponent’s successes by forfeiting one of your own dice of equal or greater value — on a one-for-one basis."

So based on the example above, there is no permissible matching option that would allow the attacker to take 2 hits and the target to take 0 hits.  ;)


 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
7 Replies
2810 Views
Last post September 25, 2013, 07:37:10 AM
by Elk101
7 Replies
2771 Views
Last post October 16, 2013, 09:07:36 AM
by FramFramson
9 Replies
3342 Views
Last post August 04, 2014, 02:40:42 PM
by religon
13 Replies
6506 Views
Last post February 25, 2015, 04:32:06 AM
by d phipps
6 Replies
2158 Views
Last post April 23, 2016, 05:00:17 PM
by d phipps