Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 20, 2024, 12:44:24 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 1689751
  • Total Topics: 118293
  • Online Today: 763
  • Online Ever: 2235
  • (October 29, 2023, 01:32:45 AM)
Users Online

Recent

Author Topic: Mikedemana's aerial screw (not a Mile Hile Club reference!)  (Read 5051 times)

Offline mikedemana

• Scatterbrained Genius
  • Investigating curiosities around the globe...
    • Worldwidemike
Mikedemana's aerial screw (not a Mile Hile Club reference!)
« on: January 07, 2017, 05:59:18 PM »

Leonardo da Vinci's sketch of his idea for a helicopter using an aerial screw

So, I may be asked to modify my somewhat scurrilous thread title, but here it is! My first planned entry into the Build Something Contest. I've participated in the Lead Painters League a number of times, but this is my first time in this one. I love scratch-building terrain, having created a number of Southeast Asian temples for my Pulp games. See my Lead Legionaries blog for some of these: http://leadlegionaries.blogspot.com/

What looks to be like an MDF model of Da Vinci's helicopter

What will my subject be? Well, Leonardo da Vinci is a personal hero of mine. I tell my students every year that I think he is the most talented and smartest man to walk the Earth, so far. What's more, I own an Italian army for my friend's Victorian Science Fiction/Steampunk games. My friend Tom has written and published his own rules set, For Queen & Planet: The Imperial Wars of Earth and Mars 1845-1930. Check them out here: http://www.firstcommandwargames.com/published-rules/for-queen-and-planet-the.html

One of our games of For Queen and Planet, with fanciful war machines on the tabletop