Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
March 28, 2024, 03:55:13 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Recent

Author Topic: Making a Viking Raid Scenario  (Read 6726 times)

Offline Neunfinger

• Scientist
Making a Viking Raid Scenario
« on: November 30, 2017, 10:30:38 PM »
Hey guys,

I'm currently preparing minis for a game on the 16th of December and want to use this thread to document my progress and hopefully keep me motivated. We're meeting with our Viking Age Reenactment group, so it's only fitting to play a small raiding scenario.

As core rules I'll be using Lion Rampant. I have no actual experience, but from reading the book they look easy enough to pick up as we go. I'll simplify the rules somewhat because some players are new to wargaming (that is, with miniatures ;))

The scenario is a small Frankish village under attack from two rivaling crews of Vikings. The poorly equipped and untrained villagers will have to hold until the local lord's cavalry arrives to drive the raiders off. The Vikings in the meantime will try to take as much plunder as they can, lifestock, villagers, maybe even the golden relic from the small chapel.

First of, a small picture of the layout of the village:

The two Viking crews, Danes and Norwegians, will attack from opposite sides of the table. The villagers start in the middle of the village. After a couple of rounds, the Frankish cavalry will (hopefully for the villagers) appear and join the fight. There will be four player, each will lead one of the mentioned groups.
To keep things simple and small scale, I will only use half as many modells per unit as usual wih Lion Rampant (so only 6 foot serjeants instead of 12 for example). Each one of the four factions will only consist of 12 points instead of 24.

So, how many minis do I need?

The Village
1x Foot Serjeants (Old War Veteran's Group) -> 6 Man DONE
1x Foot Yeomen (Ealdorman's Group) -> 6 Man