Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 19, 2024, 10:14:18 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Recent

Author Topic: Livery/non livery colors worn by troops during the Hundred Years War  (Read 6107 times)

Offline Captain Gideon

• Librarian
This question has been raised many times here but I thought I'd ask it again.

What colors were worn by troops during the Hundred Years War.

I know this is a broad question but I need to ask it since I'm still fairly new to the Medieval period.

What I really need are what colors were normally used for the troops and I'm talking about the simple rank and file troops and also the men who fought for a Lord,Duke etc and I'm talking about both the French and English.

One other question connected to this is would a unit of Spearmen all wear the same colors or would they wear different colors?

Thanks
Michael

Offline tomrommel1

• Supporting Adventurer
  • Galactic Brain
    • Wargamesgazette
This is a difficult question and I suppose it won't take long for the HYW experts to answer it in full. I think that you can't really answer that question in a single sentence and there are a lot of different opinions on that matter. Frankly there is not enough written or archeological evidence and as far as I know there were no hard rules on how to equip your troops during the HYW period. I know not much help  :(
In hoc signo vinces

Have a look at www.wargamesgazette.com

Offline Charlie_

• Mastermind
The English wore the cross of St George. They are popularly depicted wearing it as a red cross on a white coat, but quite how wide-spread this is I couldn't exactly say. It certainly makes sense that they wouldn't all be issued with smart new white livery jackets.... I believe a lot of the time they (in particular the lower-ranking soldiers, ie archers) would just have a small red cross sewn on to their clothing.